Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I would give this a 100 stars if I could!! Wow, soooooo incredibly delicious!!!! Entire family LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Moist, flavorful, and delicious! My grocery store only carried quick Barley (cooks in 10 minutes), so instead of baking it in the oven, I just prepared the onions, garlic, mushrooms, and sherry as stated in the recipe, and then added 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of barley, brought it to a boil, put the lid on, and simmered it for ten or eleven minutes. After letting it stand for a bit, I added the parsley. It turned out really well and was a quick way to make a tasty pilaf. Perhaps it would have been better with regular barley, but since I haven't eaten much barley in my life, I really didn't notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I really liked the barley in this, but not everyone else at the table loved it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Yum-O! I made for a work potluck (-sherry) tommorrow and I hope the dish makes it through the night ;) PS the dish got rave reviews. It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MindyMaxwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunol, California, USA
Living In: Burien, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
good but I was having a texture issue. It was my first experience with barley so it may have just been me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
A good side dish for pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
A warm and comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Not a fan of this. The flavor wasn't that impressive - and I even used fresh basil instead of dried. Worse, it burned in the oven even though I had it in for less than 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Wow. This was soooo good. It was comforting, like SunnyByrd said. My whole family loved it. The only sub I made was I used Sauvignon Blanc instead of the sherry (it's what I had) but it was still fantastic! What a winner, thank you Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Delicious!! I've made this recipe twice and one time with beef broth instead. I mixed in chopped asparagus during the last 20mins of baking just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States