Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great recipe. So easy and yummy. Very good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrealikestocook
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Thank you Sunny! Awesome. Wonderfully different. I used beef broth and shitakes. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Wow!! I had never made barley before in anything but soup and this really transformed barley from a background player to a real star for me! This had such a delicious earthiness to it that my husband and I adored. It reheated the next day beautifully and this will become a staple for me. It called for Pearl Barley, and I'm not sure if that is what I used or not. I used bulk organic barley from Whole Foods, and it took a little longer to cook than the recipe stated. Also, I wouldn't substitute the fresh parsley for dried in this since it added a touch of fresh and bright to an otherwise brown and earthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
What a nice change of pace after having only ever trying barley in soups. This was very filling- I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, but did cook on stove top- making it quicker. I like the chewiness of the barley and the meaty-flavor of the mushrooms. I found that this made my blood sugar more even throughout the evening- a plus for those of us who are diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I cut the whole recipe in half (perfect for two servings without leftovers), and simmered on the stove with rosemary instead of basil. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made this for Christmas and it was heavenly! I added Roma tomatoes and another reviewer suggested. I made this a day in advance then transferred to an electric food warmer an hour before dinner. Next time I will make this with low sodium vegetable broth so that my vegetarian guests can eat it. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I didn't like the consistancy. It was kinda "slimey". Good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSchritter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Walnut Cove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I would give this a 100 stars if I could!! Wow, soooooo incredibly delicious!!!! Entire family LOVED it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Moist, flavorful, and delicious! My grocery store only carried quick Barley (cooks in 10 minutes), so instead of baking it in the oven, I just prepared the onions, garlic, mushrooms, and sherry as stated in the recipe, and then added 2 cups of chicken broth, 1 cup of barley, brought it to a boil, put the lid on, and simmered it for ten or eleven minutes. After letting it stand for a bit, I added the parsley. It turned out really well and was a quick way to make a tasty pilaf. Perhaps it would have been better with regular barley, but since I haven't eaten much barley in my life, I really didn't notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I really liked the barley in this, but not everyone else at the table loved it as much as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States