Byrdhouse Mushroom Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I loved this side dish. I like beef barley soup but i wanted to try something new with barley. The only thing I changed was that I used beef stock instead of chicken broth, and I used brown mushrooms not the white button mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This reminded me of an appetizer I had at an upscale restaurant in Jasper Alberta. It was quail with barley pilaff. This is REALLY good and well worth the effort :D I'm so glad you posted this. I can't wait to serve it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made barley for the first time today, it turned out really really well!!! I added in 1/2 cup pine nuts which gave it a good flavor. Will most def make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I am totally addicted to this dish. I double the recipe and take it to work for lunch every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Always looking for a good barley recipe. This one is straightforward, but could use more flavor. It's a decent side dish, but not memorable. It doesn't pull me in for a second helping. At least I have a dutch oven now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This also tastes good with a little Truffle Oil which can be added after cooking. To veganize it - switch out the butter for Sesame Oil ... (nice warming oil for the winter time) The Truffle oil gives the umami taste of meat - so meat eaters and vegans can enjoy a meal in harmony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I was really hopeful for this recipe. Whole grains, sherry and mushrooms- I didn't think it was possible to go wrong. But the flavor just wasn't very good. It was flat, without much depth, and fairly boring. Followed the recipe to a "t", but it really didn't impress me. To fix the leftovers, I made a sherry chive pan sauce. Saute 2 tablespoons grated onion in 2 tablespoons of butter for 1 minute. Deglaze with a 3 tablespoons of sherry, and reduce slightly. Add 2 cups( or 1 can) chicken stock, and reduce to half. Add 1 tablespoon of chopped chives, and 2 tablespoons of butter off the heat, and pour over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I never write reviews of recipes. I had to for this though! Phenomenal in every respect! My fsmily loved it. So easy to prepare too. I used unsalted butter and my own homemade chicken broth; otherwise followed recipe exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Haven't had (or cooked with) barley in anything besides beef barley soup, so wanted to give this a try. It was really good served with a chicken breast on top. I had the leftovers for the next few days by itself and it was still good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Verrry good! I added some pine nuts & a shallot to the onion & garlic saute, but I think it would have been just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States