Byrdhouse Marinated Tomatoes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Really good! Like bruschetta without the bread (if you make your bruschetta with balsamic vinegar like I do)! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Great way to use up those left-over cherry and grape tomatoes from the garden. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Although we could only rate 5 stars, I'm still giving this a 10!! Oh my goodness, this is simply divine! I made the recipe as written except I used half veg oil half olive oil. I marinated for 3 hours and it was great. I LOVE the slight sweetness of the dressing, please do not cut down the amount of balsamic. It may seem like a lot, but there is sugar added and it's just delicious. My boyfriend doesn't care for balsamic vinegar, and he really loves this salad! The next day, I chopped up some fresh mozzarella and added that, WOW! I highly recommend this recipe, my only regret is that I didn't make this early in the summer with my abundance of garden fresh tomatoes. Thanks SunnyB, this is one super creation that I will make many times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is the easiest and tastiest side dish I have ever made. Lovely for the summer with fresh cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobourger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I thought this was good but not great. I swapped vegetable oil with olive oil. The balsamic I used was of very good quality but it was overkill - too much balsamic flavor! I will use less next time and maybe add some garlic for greater depth of fla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was good but I think I overdid the mushrooms (I added more) and it wasnt as strong on the flavor as I would have liked. will try again with a heavier emphasis on tomatoes. Made as is otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I loved this...I had to have a taste once it was made and it was great without even marinating the 3 hours. I can't wait to taste it again when it is ready. I didn't have any fresh basil, so I just sprinkled in a good amount of dried basil. I also used 1 1/2 packets of Splenda instead of sugar. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is so yummy! Left out the salt, subsituted evoo for vegtable oil, and added pepper. One of the best salads ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Nice dish! Very light, fresh and flavorful as well as looking lovely on the plate. The longer this sits, the more the flavor deepens. I used grape tomatoes and they were so tiny I just left them whole. Followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Oh, man! This is OUTSTANDING! I could eat this all day long. I have made this three times now. The first two times I made about half the recipe, once using cherry tomatoes and once using a beautiful summer tomato from the farm market. Last night I had just enough leftover Maple- Balsamic Vinaigrette, also from this site, so I used that in place of this dressing and used grape tomatoes. Every time it has been excellent. I like to serve this at room temperature atop salad greens, drizzling a little of the marinade over the greens. I also want to try using this to make bruschetta! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States