Byrdhouse Marinated Tomatoes and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is the easiest and tastiest side dish I have ever made. Lovely for the summer with fresh cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cobourger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I thought this was good but not great. I swapped vegetable oil with olive oil. The balsamic I used was of very good quality but it was overkill - too much balsamic flavor! I will use less next time and maybe add some garlic for greater depth of fla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was good but I think I overdid the mushrooms (I added more) and it wasnt as strong on the flavor as I would have liked. will try again with a heavier emphasis on tomatoes. Made as is otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I loved this...I had to have a taste once it was made and it was great without even marinating the 3 hours. I can't wait to taste it again when it is ready. I didn't have any fresh basil, so I just sprinkled in a good amount of dried basil. I also used 1 1/2 packets of Splenda instead of sugar. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine32019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This is so yummy! Left out the salt, subsituted evoo for vegtable oil, and added pepper. One of the best salads ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Nice dish! Very light, fresh and flavorful as well as looking lovely on the plate. The longer this sits, the more the flavor deepens. I used grape tomatoes and they were so tiny I just left them whole. Followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Oh, man! This is OUTSTANDING! I could eat this all day long. I have made this three times now. The first two times I made about half the recipe, once using cherry tomatoes and once using a beautiful summer tomato from the farm market. Last night I had just enough leftover Maple- Balsamic Vinaigrette, also from this site, so I used that in place of this dressing and used grape tomatoes. Every time it has been excellent. I like to serve this at room temperature atop salad greens, drizzling a little of the marinade over the greens. I also want to try using this to make bruschetta! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
These were excellent. I only had time to marinate for one hour and they still turned out great. Next time I will atleast tripple the marinate so I can use it to drizzle over salad. Thanks for the recipe Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Wow, this was really good! I used sliced white mushrooms and cut up tomatoes from the vine, as well as fresh basil. My husband and I LOVED it, but the kids weren't crazy about it. I don't hold that against the recipe though, they generally aren't crazy about anything with tomatoes. And as advertised, it was EVEN BETTER the next day! I will definitely be making this again. It will be especially good served to company over the summer with home grown tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was very good. I just sliced tomatoes and used presliced mushrooms and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States