Byrdhouse Easy Ginger Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was very good. However, i made a bit of change to it. I did not put the celery in this but i did make a mayo spread with mayo and chopped garlic about at tablespoon added a bit of the chil oil to the mayo and some cut of clintro to the mayo i toasted the hoggies to golden brwn spread the mayo then the meat mixture and added some monterey jack and cheeder cheese til the cheese melted over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Just like the recipe says this is easy. I can't believe I haven't thinly cut up Sirloin for sandwiches before. I didn't have fresh ginger (I know, I know) but I could still taste the ginger flavor. I didn't have the spicy oil, so I used Sriracha. Served with bacon roasted yellow squash & broccoli. Everyone really loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and didn't add on any cheese or mayo dressing to the finished product. I just had a dollop of ketchup on my plate to dip each bite into and wow, yummy! I just may try the cheese and/or mayo next time to see how I like it. I can't wait to make this again! The only thing I'd do differently is caramelize the onion first like SunnyByrd later mentioned. Some of my onions got a bit burnt by the time I finished frying everything but it was still so good! MMM...Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I wanted to use some beef I had previously cut up into small cubes, so this recipe looked great. I chose to put the beef in my crock pot, just covered with water, added a little bit of diced onion, shook out some garlic powder and ginger powder (nothing fresh in my house), skipped the celery (too much work) and chili oil (had none), and splashed in some soy sauce. Cooked it until the meat was done through, tasted, added more ginger and soy, cooked until husband was home and ready to eat. I used sliced french bread (what was on hand), toasted at least enough to be hot, placed thinly sliced cheddar on each piece to melt and prevent the bread from getting soggy, and strained the beef mixture through a slotted spoon before piling it in between the bread. I added cornstarch to the resultant broth to make a gravy for dipping for my husband. My 2 1/2 year old son liked it, and my (picky) husband said the sandwiches were really good and agreed to eat them again. I win! The flavors ended up being mild, more of an aftertaste, which I liked really well. I rated this 5 stars because it would be really good as written and was very easy to modify/hard to mess up when you don't measure, and because the ingredients are every-day sorts of food. Thanks for a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
The ginger flavor mixed with the garlic and soy sauce so well. The meat was so juicy. I loved it! The list of ingredients is short and easy to remember at the store. We ate this on toasted hoagies with provolone cheese along with Broccoli Slaw from AR. I ended up taking off my top bun so I could taste more of the beef. :) Next time I'd like to eat this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This was delicious! I recommend getting your meat cut at the butchers, it will save lots of time! I used bell peppers since I'm not a fan of celery. I also cooked the onions and bell peppers first, set aside, cooked meat then added veggies back in. I sprayed hoagies with butter, added meat & veggies, topped with provolone and broiled in oven. YUM!! thanks for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Really nice flavor! Instead of sirloin, I used beef tender steak, because it was lower in fat. I also didn't have any chili oil so I just added a shake of Tabasco sauce. I split hoagie buns, put provolone cheese on the bottom and heated them in the oven so the buns were warm and the cheese was melted. I then filled them with the meat mixture and added just a little more cheese and broiled. The gingerroot gave these sandwiches a nice twist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Outstanding. Another great recipe from another one of the allrecipe people I love to follow. I like mine light with the celery. Kinda like the photo... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Broiled the hoagies and added CoJack cheese. I really enjoyed this sandwich. Served with Cabbage Soup because everyone in the house is sickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good. I didn't end up with a sauce, but I may have had the heat up too high, and I started with already cooked steak, so that could've made the difference. The flavor was still there, though, so it's all good. I don't have chili oil and subbed sweet chili sauce--just a bit, since it is quite a strong taste. I like all the flavors in this, and served on Syrian bread that I rolled kind of like a burrito. Thanks for the recipe Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States