Byrdhouse Easy Ginger Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made these tonight after not making them for a long time and decided to add a couple of tips to my recipe. I grate the fresh ginger - lots - and press the garlic so there aren't intimidating chunks of either, just lots of flavor. I cook the onions first in the wok with hot oil, pretty much to smithereens, then set aside. Then brown the sirloin strips in the wok (I get my grocery to run the steak through the tenderizer - then you don't have to worry about them getting tough). Add the rest of the ingredients and toss until hot. My oldest son and I love these and could eat them all the time, but my husband is snobbish about them so we only feast on them when he's not around. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good. I didn't end up with a sauce, but I may have had the heat up too high, and I started with already cooked steak, so that could've made the difference. The flavor was still there, though, so it's all good. I don't have chili oil and subbed sweet chili sauce--just a bit, since it is quite a strong taste. I like all the flavors in this, and served on Syrian bread that I rolled kind of like a burrito. Thanks for the recipe Sunny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These turned out wonderful. I had to sub some ing. to what we had on hand, so would like to try as the recipe states and update. Though we like ginger I did cut back a little as I did the celery and added some green pepper and instead of chili oil added some adobo chiles and juice, it's just what we had on hand. Cooked all the veggies, chili and sauce with the meat until about medium, browned the hoggie rolls, added the ing. and topped with provolone cheese till melted. We loved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Really nice flavor! Instead of sirloin, I used beef tender steak, because it was lower in fat. I also didn't have any chili oil so I just added a shake of Tabasco sauce. I split hoagie buns, put provolone cheese on the bottom and heated them in the oven so the buns were warm and the cheese was melted. I then filled them with the meat mixture and added just a little more cheese and broiled. The gingerroot gave these sandwiches a nice twist. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was fast and easy. I had this finished in less than 3o minutes from slicing the partially frozen steak to the table. I didn't have soy sauce so I used Teriaki instead. I misread the directions and used 1Tbl. of chili oil instead of only 1 tsp. I liked this sandwich quite a bit, but I love spicy and I love ginger, and this started with my favorites onion and garlic so I was already sold. The family didn't like this so maybe it's too girly (or metro) for their manly man palates of steak and potatoes. I'd eat this again, my men voted against this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Outstanding. Another great recipe from another one of the allrecipe people I love to follow. I like mine light with the celery. Kinda like the photo... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
this recipe is also great over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These were very good. I had some issues with the how the meat turned out but I know it was my fault, not the recipes. It was way to "soupy" so I added cornstarch and served with rice. Will do things the way sunny described in her review above. Also, I will use green onion instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I wanted to use some beef I had previously cut up into small cubes, so this recipe looked great. I chose to put the beef in my crock pot, just covered with water, added a little bit of diced onion, shook out some garlic powder and ginger powder (nothing fresh in my house), skipped the celery (too much work) and chili oil (had none), and splashed in some soy sauce. Cooked it until the meat was done through, tasted, added more ginger and soy, cooked until husband was home and ready to eat. I used sliced french bread (what was on hand), toasted at least enough to be hot, placed thinly sliced cheddar on each piece to melt and prevent the bread from getting soggy, and strained the beef mixture through a slotted spoon before piling it in between the bread. I added cornstarch to the resultant broth to make a gravy for dipping for my husband. My 2 1/2 year old son liked it, and my (picky) husband said the sandwiches were really good and agreed to eat them again. I win! The flavors ended up being mild, more of an aftertaste, which I liked really well. I rated this 5 stars because it would be really good as written and was very easy to modify/hard to mess up when you don't measure, and because the ingredients are every-day sorts of food. Thanks for a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Once you have the ingredients prepped, the cooking part takes 10 mins. It's so quick! I left the soy sauce and chili oil (I used chili powder) out of the mixture and just seasoned each sandwich to taste. The flavors were light yet explosive! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLB811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States