Byrdhouse Easy Ginger Beef Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lil Mermaid
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
The ginger flavor mixed with the garlic and soy sauce so well. The meat was so juicy. I loved it! The list of ingredients is short and easy to remember at the store. We ate this on toasted hoagies with provolone cheese along with Broccoli Slaw from AR. I ended up taking off my top bun so I could taste more of the beef. :) Next time I'd like to eat this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Broiled the hoagies and added CoJack cheese. I really enjoyed this sandwich. Served with Cabbage Soup because everyone in the house is sickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and didn't add on any cheese or mayo dressing to the finished product. I just had a dollop of ketchup on my plate to dip each bite into and wow, yummy! I just may try the cheese and/or mayo next time to see how I like it. I can't wait to make this again! The only thing I'd do differently is caramelize the onion first like SunnyByrd later mentioned. Some of my onions got a bit burnt by the time I finished frying everything but it was still so good! MMM...Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Just like the recipe says this is easy. I can't believe I haven't thinly cut up Sirloin for sandwiches before. I didn't have fresh ginger (I know, I know) but I could still taste the ginger flavor. I didn't have the spicy oil, so I used Sriracha. Served with bacon roasted yellow squash & broccoli. Everyone really loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was very good. However, i made a bit of change to it. I did not put the celery in this but i did make a mayo spread with mayo and chopped garlic about at tablespoon added a bit of the chil oil to the mayo and some cut of clintro to the mayo i toasted the hoggies to golden brwn spread the mayo then the meat mixture and added some monterey jack and cheeder cheese til the cheese melted over the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
this recipe is also great over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These were very good. I had some issues with the how the meat turned out but I know it was my fault, not the recipes. It was way to "soupy" so I added cornstarch and served with rice. Will do things the way sunny described in her review above. Also, I will use green onion instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsM...!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made these tonight after not making them for a long time and decided to add a couple of tips to my recipe. I grate the fresh ginger - lots - and press the garlic so there aren't intimidating chunks of either, just lots of flavor. I cook the onions first in the wok with hot oil, pretty much to smithereens, then set aside. Then brown the sirloin strips in the wok (I get my grocery to run the steak through the tenderizer - then you don't have to worry about them getting tough). Add the rest of the ingredients and toss until hot. My oldest son and I love these and could eat them all the time, but my husband is snobbish about them so we only feast on them when he's not around. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
These turned out wonderful. I had to sub some ing. to what we had on hand, so would like to try as the recipe states and update. Though we like ginger I did cut back a little as I did the celery and added some green pepper and instead of chili oil added some adobo chiles and juice, it's just what we had on hand. Cooked all the veggies, chili and sauce with the meat until about medium, browned the hoggie rolls, added the ing. and topped with provolone cheese till melted. We loved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States