Byrdhouse Dream Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is good stuff!! We love sesame oil and thought it added a nice touch to the dressing. I followed the directions mostly but did an emulsion to cut down on separation of the ingredients, just a personal preference. I added all of my ingredients in the food processor except the oils, turned it on and slowly added the oil. It turned out great and got rave reviews from my mom and the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I felt like Italian dressing for my salad, and this one looked good. Plus, I love rice vinegar. I only made enough for 2 salads, in case I didn't like it. The honey made it a bit too sweet for me--I'll cut back next time, but it was still very good. Next time I'll make a full amount in a bottle to save in the fridge. The herbs were good and the combination of vinegars went really well together. My salad was comprised of lettuce, cucumber, tomato, carrot, red bell pepper, radishes, toasted almonds, and some cheddar cheese. Good salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Wanted to love it, but it was only marginal. Won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
We liked this dressing a lot - Tangy with a subtle hint of sweetness! I added some freshly chopped basil and parsley to the dressing. I cut down a bit on the oil and used EVOO instead of vegetable oil. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I did not like this at all. I think it may have been the taste of the sesame oil that ruined it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiegirl30
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! Great on walnut, blue cheese and pear salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was so good. My family loved it. I love the hint of sweetness that is in the dressing. I don't have a garlic press so I beat it with a meat mallet until the garlic was mush. I can't wait to try this on some chicken as a marinade. Yum! I'll be making this often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Typical of anything that comes from the Byrdhouse, this is a versatile recipe. I made/ate this yesterday, but with sesame oil, good things happen with age! This is no exception. On salad for the last two nights, I have loved this dressing. I have to tell you that tonight on avocados, this is nothing but spectacular! But as my dear hubby pointed out, this will only be better used as a marinade. We declared this as KEEPER! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Love this! I was hesitant about the Sesame Oil, I don't really like it, but it's very subtle in this dressing. What a fantastic tasting salad, not too tangy or sweet. I did use a bit less honey than called for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't think this was as great as everyone said it was. It was just salad dressing. That and I spent like $20 buying the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cukatie2983

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States