Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These are amazing. VERY EASY TO MAKE! In fact I just had surgery 4 days ago on my hand, so I was able to make these one handed!! (I had some issues when it came to rolling them out lol) I followed the recipe exactly as its stated. It doesn't say how long to make the rope, but my suggestion is more than 8-10" which is how long I made mine. I would suggest a very thin rope about 20" long. Don't be afraid, it raises in the oven. That's my next suggestion, SPACE THEM OUT! To get a good even color on them make sure you make them in batches. Overall, amazing turn out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
My family loved these! I put the oven on 400 instead like some users said and only used 3 cups of flour and they came out perfect. The darker you let them get the better they are! Crispy out side, light fluffy inside. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I have a complaint...I CAN'T STOP EATING THEM! lol i had to freeze half just so i would!! these are great, i followed the recipe as written, and did end up adding 2 tablespoons more water as suggested..did not use a floured surface as I didn't need to...they rolled easy for me. I dipped them in a nacho cheese sauce, also from this site, chilled, it taste and has the same consistency as a popular cheese dip at a certain mall pretzel shop...and i have to agree with others, the melted butter brushed on top is a must! love them and will make again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made these before perfect. Just doing in a large quanity now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Have made this many times as a special treat - one of my favorite "football afternoon" snacks! Thanks so much for sharing it with all of us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
YUM! Some notes: Kneading bread is often most successful done by hand, imo. You can feel when the dough is right. Start with four cups of flour mix ingrediants in as directed. Just until it starts to form a ball and pulls away from the sides (think a messy knot not a smooth ball)Dump mixture onto a surface floured with a cup of flour sprad out knead mixture incorporating extra flour whenever it gets sticky for about 7-10minutes. Really get in there and grab and tear and push and fold. Depending on weather and altitude this may be enough. If the dough is not springy to touch and smooth add a bit more up to the 6 cups in the recipe. (Bread dough isn't desgned as a specific measurement what works for one person will not always work every time you can't just treat it like a cake). After kneading let it rise as suggested. One alternative to dipping pretzels is bathing them in the baking soda solution for 2 minutes (they get that really dark brown pretty color from this). Just let them soak and spoon the mixture up and over. When I picked them up I placed them in my hand with a paper towel on it to absorb some of the excess water (don't wrap it around just put the paper flat hold your hand flat put pretzel on flat hand for a second then move to baking sheet). I let them sit about 20 minutes then put in oven at 400 on middle and top racks for 5 minutes switched pans to the other rack baked 5 mins more. Moved to rack and spooned 3 tblspoons unsalted butter over all. To DIE FOR!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I don't bake bread and have never made pretzles but I gave this a try! AWESOME! and easy. I followed the directions as written. I made pretzel sticks and dipped them in beer cheese for game day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Amazing. My kids would love if I made these more often. Super yummy, but we'd all be huge if I made them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Fantastic! I loved how the dough is slightly sweet. I followed the recipe exactly except that instead of just dunking the pretzels in the baking soda solution, I diluted the solution a bit, brought it to a boil and boiled each pretzel individually for about 30 seconds. I divided the dough into 8 portions and baked them at 450 for 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
great recipe! I will be making tons of these for a party this week. So easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States