Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Fabulous! I've made these several times and they always turn out scrumptious! I followed the advice of others to use less flour and that's worked well for me. The only other change I make is to use half the amount of soda and hot water for dipping, and it's more than enough. I've also used this recipe to make pretzel rolls - it makes 12 dinner-sized or 8 large rolls. When making rolls, I stir a couple teaspoons of soda into 1/2 cup hot water. I form the rolls, place them on a parchment-lined baking sheet, and brush them with the soda water. After they've risen until double, I brush them again, sprinkle them with kosher salt, and cut a small "x" in the top of each one. I bake them at 425 degrees for 5 minutes, then turn the oven down to 350 for 10 minutes more. They look just like store-bought pretzel rolls, but taste so much better! However I make it, this recipe is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrewt
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best easiest pretzel recipe. Kids loved them. No changes to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It was an easy recipe to follow and the results are seriously fantastic!!! I only ended up needing 4 cups of flour and still had to add water. So I suggest only using a portion of what's called for and then adding more as needed. The 8 min cooking time is pretty exact too so don't walk away and forget them! DO the last step with the baking soda and water!!! I only did it with my last pretzel. They all turned out delicious, but the one that was dipped in baking soda and water, browned nicer without drying out on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I bake bread a lot. This is a good recipe. Don't skip the baking soda bath! It makes a big difference. I sprinkled some with fresh Parmesan cheese prior to baking. I got maybe 25 decent pretzels out of this...not meal sized but still nicely sized for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I have never made this type of recipe and I figured with a 4.5 star rating and over 1500 people rating it, it would be awesome. WAYYYYY too much flour... its a mess, cannot be fixed, would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Moriarty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yaya_77
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I made pretzel bites instead. Baked them at 415• for 8 minutes. Other than that, I followed the recipe and they turned out amazing! I have to force myself to stop eating them so there is some left for everyone else when they get home from school and work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this several times... Great each time! BUT... I use melted butter instead of oil, and approx 4 1/2 C flour versus the stated 5C. I start with 3.5 C flour, mix, and add flour till the dough is not sticky. They really do taste like the ones at the mall....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
These didn't taste like mall pretzels. Next time, I think that adding substituting butter for the oil will yield a better flavor. Another issue I ran into was that the outside of the pretzels were bitter due to the baking soda bath. I think I may use lye next time if I had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaptMicha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brookeville, Maryland, USA
Photo by Leigh Myrtetus Maro
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Awesome pretzels!! I used a little more water while mixing/kneading. I also used 1/4 cup of baking soda instead of 1/2 cup. Once they came out of the oven I brushed with melted butter. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This recipe was easy to make. We had high hopes for the pretzels we had in Munich but were a bit disappointed. I will agree that there is too much flour in the original recipe. In the end, we only used 4 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States