Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I made these two days in a row because they were gone so fast. The second time I made about 20 pretzels out of the dough instead of the dozen the recipe says. My German roommate says they taste exactly like the ones he grew up eating. Definitely a success!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Wow that is really all I can say, this is the first time I have made pretzels and I will definitely make this again. We love them so much that my room mate almost finished the first 6 before the second ones were done cooking I had to cut her off. In the past I have had some trouble with yeast so I was doubting how it would come out but it was delicious and amazing. I had to add 4 extra spoons of water because it was too dry, also I was very concerned when I was needing the dough it was really tough like popped my wrist out of place tough but I continued anyways and I am so glad I did these are at least as good as pretzels at the mall. Follow the recipe to the T with the exception of if you need more water and you will end up with the most amazing pretzels I will no longer be buying these at the mall because I will now be making them at home Just perfection. I loved it so much I joined the cite just to do the review :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Delicious! Made these for the new year and the kids devoured them! I did have to add the extra water when following the recipe exactly. I boiled my water and baking soda mixture to ensure that it stayed warm. Lining the cookie sheet with parchment paper made for a quick and easy clean up. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fowlerville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Wonderfully easy and fantastic recipe. Made it two times in one day because they were gobbled up so quickly and we had to have some for lunch next day! Will make again and again. The other reviews were very helpful for me as a first time pretzel maker. Would reduce the yeast to 3 1/4 or 3 1/2 tsp next time. Added 4 cups flour and added little bits of the final cup as necessary but didn't need fully 5cups for sure. Baked in approximately 6 1/2 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Needs less sugar imo, but great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
It tastes kind of good but it doesn't has the special crust which makes a brezel a brezel!!!! guess I keep looking for a good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jwr
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I didn't follow these directions exactly. The dough was mixed and kneaded in a bread machine (90 minutes). Then I rolled out the pretzels and let them rise for an hour. After that I boiled the water and baking soda for a 1 minute bath. The boiling bath gave them a tougher outer shell (like a bagel). In the end they came out great. We even had enough dough for 16. So we made a braided strand and a roll for practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Not bad overall - but making the actual pretzel shape is more difficult than it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I thought this was great. I'm sure it would work well with less flour, but I stuck to the recipe anyway.I let the dough rise for 90 minutes, because it seemed a little bit too firm. I suggest that you knead the dough a second time and let it rise another 90 minutes (that is what I did and they came out great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dadventure Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is the first time I've made anything with yeast. I followed the recipe and directions exactly. These were FANTASTIC! I did six with kosher salt and six with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States