Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Misty
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Made these today with a wonderful outcome. Based on other reviews, I started with just 4 cups of flour and dusted a little more as needed and the dough baked up just perfectly, soft and chewy. Once they were done (about 7 minutes at 415 degrees), I brushed them with melted butter and dipped them in a bowl of cinnamon and sugar to coat. I made 6 pretzels like this and used the rest of the dough to make 8 pretzel dogs which were simply brushed with butter. Oh, I kinda wish this didn't turn out so good because now I'm really going to have to exercise a LOT of self control not to over-indulge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These are BETTER than the mall pretzels! And WAY cheaper! This recipe works well for those who have bread makers. Just let the yeast, sugar and water do it's thing for 10 min, then procede as instructed. Then set bread maker to "Dough" cycle. In addition to vegetable oil, I added 3 tablespoons of butter. Some of the pretzels were coated in cinnamon & sugar; garlic powder, course salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning; and course salt! The finished product was AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawntee Hull

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Added the 5 cups of flour, had to add more liquid. The pretzels came out great for us! Had my 5 year old help, using the dough hook on the mixer. It was fun, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
If you are hesitate about putting them in the baking soda bath don't be-it makes all the difference! Be sure to do it before you have the last rise though. I was lazy and used my bread maker for the dough and I used an egg yoke. They turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
tried this recipe tonight. turn out very delicious. thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Turns out great every time. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
It was delicious!!! I made 14 and they were gone in one hour between four people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
love this recipe. I've made it over and over! I make jalapenos pretzels, cinnamon and sugar with cream cheese, and regular buttery soft pretzels using this recipe. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I think these turned out pretty good considering my first batch I forgot the oil and the second batch I decided to add a little King Arthur Flour Pizza Dough seasoning. Made them a little more cheesy tasting. Next time though, I will not use the baking stones. Took too long to cook and the bottoms were still soft (and I even blotted the pretzels on paper towels after the sodium h20). Next time I'm just blotting the solution on the top and using a metal baking sheet. I only used 4 C Flour the 2nd batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great turned out great too.i used it for school cooking classes kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States