Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
These pretzels were amazing. My husband and I really enjoyed them. I followed the recipe as given. This recipe was simple and easy. The pretzel tasted just like Auntie Anne's pretzels at the mall. It only took me about two hours to make. I used more butter for taste. I also drizzle a little cinnamon and sugar with extra butter. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Super easy recipe and turns out great! Like others I used 3.5 cups of flour and baked it for 8 min at 400F
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Brush with egg whites before baking to get a golden crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kea027

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
First of all, to make a good pretzel, you really just need any basic dough recipe and the baking soda bath. The baking soda bath is what makes it pretzelly. The key alterations I found was that I only needed about 3 cups of flour. If you didn't read the reviews and started with 5 cups of flour, your pretzels will suck. I also changed was only using half the amount of water/baking soda for the bath (and I still had more than I needed for 12 pretzels - you could probably 1/4 it). 4 tsp of yeast is a lot for something that doesn't actually need to ride all that much. You can get away with just 2 or 3. The other thing the recipe was missing was instructions for rolling out the dough. I divided my dough into 12 parts rolled each piece between my hands into a fat snake (like you'd do with playdough). Then I used my rolling pin to roll it into a long flat strip (about 24 inches). Once I got the length I needed, I rounded it out to the thickness of my finger. I also cooked mine at 450 for 15 minutes but I've seen a variety of reviews about cooking for less or lower temps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made it according to the recipe and I will make the following changes listed in some of the other reviews: I will try to roll them thinner/longer, cook it at a slightly lower temperature to cook the middle better, and try using 4 cups of flour (as i had to add quite a bit of water to get the dough right). Good with butter and salt; and butter, cinnamon, and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is an awesome recipe, and very easy. I brushed the finished pretzels with melted butter, and that made the slightly over-browned bottom good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
These pretzels were good and the dough was very easy to work with. I used 4 cups of flour and that was plenty. I did have problems with them sticking to the pan. Greased, ungreased, parchment paper, greased parchment paper - didn't matter - they stuck to the pans. I even tried "drying" them off slightly from the soda bath, but they still stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reina
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
the best pretzels good recipe I Will use this recipe again I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was very easy to do. My two toddlers had a great time making these and they tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States