Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Loved these! The only reason they dont get 5 stars from me is because I mad a few minor adjustments. I was unsure of how much flour to use since I read mixed reviews about the amount of flour to use. So I used 4 1/2 cups. I used my bread maker to make the dough. I did make the yeast as specified before I added the rest of the ingredients to the machine. When my dough was ready before it rose I took it out and placed it in bowl to rise and continued with the recipe as written. I had no problem rolling them out to pinky sized ropes. I also adjusted the oven temp to 415 and only made half the baking soda and water solution and it was plenty. I made half with salt and the other half with cinnamon n sugar. For the cinnamon sugar ones I did NOT sprinkle with salt before baking. When done I dipped them in butter to help the cinnamon and sugar stick. I have 4 kids ranging in ages from 16-6 and they all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
In my opinion this recipe is really dry and needs a lot more liquid added to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
not a big fan of pretzels, and these weren't as good as the ones you get at the fair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. Made them a second time and used less baking soda and water for the dunking and worked out the same. I also added a tablespoon of both dough conditioner and vital wheat gluten and turned out really nice with crispy exterior and chewy insides. Made them as pretzel bites and the kids ate them until they were stuffed with white flour goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love this recipe! Everyone that has ever tried them loves them too! I did cut the flour down to 4 cups. I bake them at 415 degrees F for 8 minutes and brush them with butter after they come out of the oven. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I am so excited I finally got these to work! I have tried them many times and they always turned out like hard and dry pieces of bread. When I tried to roll the ropes they constantly crumbled and fell apart. A few things I FINALLY did right (for those who are also struggling): 1. I added A LOT less flour - I made 1/2 batch and probably left about 2/3 cup of flour out and still had to add a few tbsp of water. 2. I timed my kneading - I think I was way under-kneading. 3. when I mixed the baking soda and water I used the hottest water I could get out of my tap AND put it in the microwave for 45 sec. The baking soda still didn't totally dissolve but they did turn out more pretzel-brown. I only gave 4 stars because they still aren't quite as good as the mall ones and they don't have that perfect brown crust you usually find on pretzels. Still a great snack to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I did not like this recipe, the proportions for the flour are all wrong. i could not get it to form a ball with out adding extra water and vegetable oil. Alot of it. Then it didn't rise. I will never make this again. It was a waste of 5 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is a great pretzel recipe! The baking soda solution is a MUST. If you do not use it, the pretzels would just be salty pretzel-shaped bread. I changed a few things, for the baking soda solution, I only use 1/4 cup of baking soda and two cups of water. Also, I keep the solution in a small pan on the stove and have it barely simmer. For the pretzel itself, I brush it with butter before putting it in the oven, and brush it AGAIN with butter after it comes out, then sprinkle it with kosher salt. But if you use pretzel salt, it is better to put it on the pretzels before you put them in the oven, just because that helps the salt stick better. FYI- just to let you guys know.... I'M TWELVE. Shocker huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Amazing and simple to make! My children LOVE these as afterschool snacks! I pair them with either cheese sauce or even just butter. Amazingly delish, and for a novice "yeast" user like me they turned out great the first time. I would only watch them closely when you bake them, oven times do vary as do batch by batch. I check on them every few minutes untill they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe made good tasting pretzels, but there are some modifications that need to be made. First off, don't bother proofing the yeast. Just mix the yeast into the flour and other dry ingredients and add the water. Second, 2 packets of yeast equals 4 1/2 tsp. If you are using packets, don't measure, just add two packets. Third, 5 cups of flour is WAY too much for 1 1/4 cups of liquid. Mix 3 cups of flour with the other dry ingredients, add the water and mix. Then slowly add enough flour to make a stiff dough. You will not need 5 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,573) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States