Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe! I have made them several times and even my kids love them. I took them to a church function and have people asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Everyone loved these pretzels!! I had a hard time rolling the dough into long enough lengths to twist the pretzels, but that is my own lack of coordination. These made great Christmas goody bag stuffers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Good recipe! I wonder though after reading a lot of reviews if people know that they can watch a video of this recipe being made,shaped and baked! Will be trying the Mall Pretzel recipe next to compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Made these today. Let the rise in the oven while we went to the pool and baked them when we got back. Used only 4 C of the flour with maybe 1/4 sprinkled extra while it was kneading in mixer. The dough refused to go into any shape so I rolled out and cut into the pretzel bites my kiddo loves instead. Very good recipe. Will definitely make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbroy92

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Telford, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe to a T! These were awesome! I would not change a thing! My oldest who loves pretzels said they were the best ever & even better than the malls.So i will be making these again & again!thanks for a excellent recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This recipe is excellent! Made a half dozen to be on the safe side and wished I had made the dozen. Easy. A couple of tips. Make sure you proof your yeast accordingly. I let my dough rise with a moist paper towel and plastic wrap on the dryer (multi task )Keep the moist paper towel on the dough while you role and work with the dough.They are Delicious right out the oven with butter brushed on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These are the best! Way too much flour though. Start with 4 c and add from there. I also decided to make mini pretzel sticks. They were about 1 1/2" around and 2-3" long. Making the sticks, I was able to make around 18 to 20 instead of the recommended 12. The first time I made them I foolishly added all 5 cups of flour and there was so much I couldn't roll the dough out. I almost threw the batch away but decided to make it, this is when I made the sticks, by squeezing the dough instead of rolling it; even with too much flour, they were still very good. I have since figured out how the dough should feel. I usually make 2 batches in a day (not a double batch, double batches often don't work and I don't want to waste all the ingredients). My husband and kids are always begging me to make more and I am always willing to oblige!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I read some of the reviews for this recipe and adjusted by using 3 1/2 c of flour, used 1/4 c sugar, used butter instead of vegatable oil, NO salt...only for topping, and cut back to 2 tsp baking soda and 1 cup of hot water...Baked at 400 degrees for 9 minutes...THESE WERE GREAT!!! I loved them just as much as those sold in the mall. I recommend them and have already shared this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tearcyn's Mom Forever
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Woke up this morning at 4:00 a.m. Checked out my daily e-mail from All Recipes and found this one. Since the hubby and I both LOVE pretzels and I had all the ingredients on hand I decided to give it a "twist & try"! I always read the reviews first and like others I cut down the flour to 4 cups but followed recipe exactly after that until coming to the baking soda solution. I just used 2 tsp. baking soda and 1 cup water (as suggested by another reviewer) and periodically warmed it up in the micro when it cooled down or between batches. Hubby loved them and he is EXTREMELY picky! I think we have a keeper except I really, really, really need practice at "twisting a pretzel". (as you can see by my photo)! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tearcyn's Mom Forever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winston, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This recipe is perfect. I make snacks like this and my wife will try but not ususally interested after that. She has had one each day for three days and raved about them each time. Perfect recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States