Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This recipe is perfect. I make snacks like this and my wife will try but not ususally interested after that. She has had one each day for three days and raved about them each time. Perfect recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Needed less flour than called for (~4 cups) but added a tablespoon of gluten (or you can use bread flour instead). The texture seemed more like a bagel than a pretzel, but they're practically the same things. I shaped them into treble clefs (musical theme) as a gift to a music teacher. I thought they came out great after buttering them and sprinkling cinnamon & sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Very good, thanks to the suggestions of other reviewers! I only used 3.5 cups of bread flour and that was plenty. I also only baked for about 9 minutes at 400. I decided to make half cinnamon sugar, and the other half garlic salt. They didn't last long. These are very close to the pretzels I love in the mall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
My daughter and I just made these pretzels this morning and they turned out so Yummy! I only needed 4 cups of flour. I will definitely make this again. My daughter said it's better than the mall-kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I tried this recipe as my first attempt at making pretzels. Right off the bat, the first thing I thought was "That's an awful lot of flour". I also noted that it required nearly double the amount of yeast for any other pretzel recipe. Those should have been my red flags, but I stuck with the recipe. The dough turned out terribly dry! Adding "2 tablespoons of water" did nothing to fix this. I added spoon after spoon. Nothing. It rose, but was dry and unable to be formed in to pretzels at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
My five-year old son and I made these delicious, melt-in-your mouth, fluffy, soft pretzels today! The recipe is very easy to follow and worked very well for a novice breadmaker, like me. I followed many of the reviewers' suggestion to decrease the amount of flour, so I used 4 cups, but I still found the dough to be a bit dry. To compensate, I had to add approximately 1 tablespoon of water, which made the dough pull together quite nicely. Out of the oven, we brushed the tops with butter and sprinkled some with cinnamon sugar. My husband declared that these pretzels are much better than the mall pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
No Butter in recipe but it sure tastes like it. First time making pretzels! Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
First time making pretzels and they turned out delicious! :) Once they were done cooking I put some melted butter on them and sprinkled with some italian seasoning and others with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I used my bread machine for this recipe to make it even easier! I changed a few quantities though; 4 cups of bread flour, I omitted the 1 tsp of sugar (as you don't need to wait for the yeast to get frothy when using the bread machine), 1 1/2 cups of warm water and used only 1 tsp of salt as the salt on the outside of the pretzel made them salty enough. They were amazing! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
These just did not turn out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States