Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Wonderful! I needed to bake them longer than 8 minutes, but they are just amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Really tasty. Make sure to roll these out as long as you can, because mine, while delicious, were too doughy. Browned nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsmemaggi
Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Excellent recipe. The only thing I changed was I put 2 tblsp. sugar instead of 1/2 cup because I didn't want them that sweet. Just my personal preference. My kids and I love to dip our pretzels in honey mustard. I mix equal parts of honey and yellow mustard. If you don't like yellow mustard you could use dijon instead. We also like strawberry cream cheese. I have tried a couple of the other recipes on this sight and so far this is the best one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazee4cookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
These were decent. I admit Im not a baker by any means. I think these would be great with more practice. Its kind of a lot to make a whole doughball, roll it out, etc. I overcooked on accident so mine came out too hard and chewy (my own fault). I may make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I LOVE pretzels, so finding this recipe made me so happy! However the amount of flour is ridiculous. You need half the amount. I used the 6 cups and the dough wouldn't form, so I made double the yeast mixture and it evened it out. But they tasted fabulous and are definitely better than store bought pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Made my very first pretzels! Read the reviews, went easy on the flour and they turn out good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
good but i had problems with the dough , it was far to dry so i added extra water, also they need to be cooked for longer, i did them for 10 mins but they where still doughy in the middle so i did them for another 4 mins, very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Great recipe, I've made them several times and they come out great. I sometimes feel sassy and change up the salt for sesame seeds, and other times carroway seeds, so good :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oh look, a chicken!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
it was amazing. i recommend this for all. use a little less flour and handle very carefully when dipping in the water solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valeria
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Yes, these pretzels came out absolutely astonishing. And the most wonderful thing is that I didn't had any hard time with them at all. I followed Wayne Gisslen's advise from his "Professional baking" that active dry yeast must be rehydrated in 4 times its weight of warm water. So I dissolved 4 tsps (0,5 oz/15 g) of yeast and 1 tsp of sugar in 2 oz (60 ml) of water. And later I just added separately the yeast mix and remaining water (8 oz/235 ml) in the flour mix. 4 cups of flour were more than enough. I kneaded it with a dough hook on the 2nd speed for 10 min. I let it rise for 1 hour, punched down and let it relax on the bench 20 more minutes. After I had made up pretzels and soaked them in soda bath, I sprinkled half of them with poppy seeds and salt, and another half with sesames and salt. Baked every batch only for 8 min. Then covered them with melted butter. Pretzels are the best just after the baking, though they are very good the next day even without any air-tight package. I have tried to bake pretzels on parchment paper, silicone mat and just on the oiled cookie sheet. And I can say: never ever bake them on oiled cookie sheets (!!!) They will stick anyway and you'll eat pretzels without their bottoms. The next time I'll try to half the amount of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States