Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very tasty, my kids wolfed these down!! Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My family love this recipe; we used to get soft pretzel at the old Price Club (now Costco) but they stopped making these a long time ago; we have been looking for a recipe that's good and had failed many times. My daughters told me: we FOUND IT. I added an additional 1/4 cup of warm water and reduce the flour by one cup. Delicious and freeze well too. Thank you, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made this today with my three granddaughters, ages 6-8, and they loved it. Very easy to make and they had fun shaping the pretzels in fun shapes. I had to add the extra water to the dough because I had not read the reviews that suggested cutting back the flour a little. Next time I will do that. Also, I used 2 c. hot water and 1/4 c. of baking soda for the wash before baking and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I've made these five times now with my grandchildren (ages 4,5,6). It is an easy recipe, fun to make into shapes, and delicious to eat. We made some with salt and most plain and brushed with butter when they came out of the oven. My only constructive comment deals with the baking soda wash. We used MUCH less than the 1/2 cup of baking soda recipe calls for and you don't need 4 cups water! I dissolved 2 TEASPOONS in about 1 cup water (in the microwave) and then put the solution in a flat dish. I dipped the pretzels in the solution (rather than letting the children) and it worked out fine. You do not need to waste all that baking soda. You need the solution to make them brown, so they look like pretzels, but you do not need a lot. We tried brushing the solution on the pretzels (and the children could do that) but the color looked best by dipping. A WONDERFUL KITCHEN PROJECT.... will do again, many times, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Too much flour. Even after adding more water, it did not help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I really liked the flavor of these pretzels and they were pretty easy to make. I just wish that they were came out less puffy, if that makes sense because the traditional pretzels are thin and the coating on the outside is hard, while the inside is soft and chewy. I did not get that from this recipe. Maybe I did something wrong, but looking at all the pix submitted, I realize that their pretzels looked a lot like mine. I was hoping for something different and I will continue to search for the best pretzel recipe out there. Again, these taste good, but are not the consistency I am looking for. These might need less yeast so that they are not as puffy and hold their safe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Made the dough in the bread machine. They were easy to do and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I love this recipe ! I have made garlic and sugar cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettymum

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These were amazing! I've only recently started making bread and this was my first time attempting pretzels. The recipe was really easy to follow. I took the advice of a couple other reviewers and added a bit more oil & salt to the dough. Adding the oil was a good move, I think. I didn't have to flour the counter before turning out the dough...it was perfectly smooth and didn't stick at all. I also used only 4 cups of flour instead of 5...for the amount of liquid, 4 just worked better. My dough wouldn't take any more than that. I will be making these again next weekend, both because they were a huge hit, and because I need to practice my pretzel-shaping technique :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monicakat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
these turned out delicious! I followed the recipe except for oven temp- I did 415 as another reviewer suggested- they still browned quickly and were done in 9 mins. I almost wished I doubled it because we want to freeze some to have on hand. These won't last long around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States