Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
it was amazing. i recommend this for all. use a little less flour and handle very carefully when dipping in the water solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valeria
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Yes, these pretzels came out absolutely astonishing. And the most wonderful thing is that I didn't had any hard time with them at all. I followed Wayne Gisslen's advise from his "Professional baking" that active dry yeast must be rehydrated in 4 times its weight of warm water. So I dissolved 4 tsps (0,5 oz/15 g) of yeast and 1 tsp of sugar in 2 oz (60 ml) of water. And later I just added separately the yeast mix and remaining water (8 oz/235 ml) in the flour mix. 4 cups of flour were more than enough. I kneaded it with a dough hook on the 2nd speed for 10 min. I let it rise for 1 hour, punched down and let it relax on the bench 20 more minutes. After I had made up pretzels and soaked them in soda bath, I sprinkled half of them with poppy seeds and salt, and another half with sesames and salt. Baked every batch only for 8 min. Then covered them with melted butter. Pretzels are the best just after the baking, though they are very good the next day even without any air-tight package. I have tried to bake pretzels on parchment paper, silicone mat and just on the oiled cookie sheet. And I can say: never ever bake them on oiled cookie sheets (!!!) They will stick anyway and you'll eat pretzels without their bottoms. The next time I'll try to half the amount of sugar in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
New family fave, I suggest you read other reviews before you make this. I used 4 cups of flour as other reviews suggested and I'm glad I did, let rise in the oven with light on, no heat, and damp towel over the bowl. Really fun to make with your kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 123michele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I just made these about two hours ago, was looking for a recipe that didn't require bread flour and this fit the bill. I was able to get a crispy shell but a soft, fluffy inside. I would suggest varying the temp between 370 and 425 as some stoves may run hotter. Also, I turned the stove off when they started to get a light brown and let them set for 5 minutes. That made handling them a lot easier as well since they weren't overly hot. Other than that, this was a solid, easy to follow recipe. Thank you for sharing it, my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Marie Searfoss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
First try, it turned out REALLY GOOD!! Amazing...We are in China, so not so many bakery we can go for, this is something we gonna try very often!Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Xiamen, Fujian Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakerChick01
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
After reading the other reviews and recommendations I only used 3 cups of flour and it was enough. I also ensured the pretzels baked on the middle-high rack to prevent burning on the bottoms of the pretzels. I also baked it at 415F as a reviewer suggested. The prezels turned out so well! They don't look perfect but I'm sure it takes practise to roll them out and twist them very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerChick01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Delicious! halved the recipe but mad i did because i wanted to freeze some. I replaced regular oil with coconut oil and used some almond flour that i made...so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Excellent .The only thing we did different was to make pretzel bits instead of the full pretzels . When they came out of the oven we brushed the melted butter on them , then salted .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I was worried about this recipe while shaping the dough because it seemed to be not so smooth and too easy to rip, but my pretzels turned out beautiful. Two suggestions: First, make sure you let the baking soda solution drip well before the pretzels go in the oven, otherwise it will burn on your baking sheet (doesn't affect the pretzels, but the smell scared me enough that I took out the pretzels before they were ready). Second, if you aren't sure about whether your pretzels are done, poke them with a toothpick to see if they are doughy or chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Just made these today! Will definitely make them again. they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States