Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I actually changed the recipe after mixing in the flour mixture, and headed in the direction of a bread. I added an egg yolk, oregano, baking soda, and as much flour as possible. I kneaded it a lot, and let it rise twice. Then i added some melted butter and cheese on top. It actually made a great bread. I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a more flavorful recipe. :D Maybe sometime i'll actually make the pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Northfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I just made these pretzels for a party. When they came out of the oven my husband and I tried them with a honey mustard, a whole grain mustard and a beer cheese sauce I made. THEY ARE DELICIOUS. Even better than I expected. They came out beautiful, soft, chewy and with that awesome sweet yeasty taste a good bread dough has......I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Woke up this morning and decided to bake pretzels! Went on google, saw all the good reviews and helpful hits (thank you all for that; they were invaluable) and they were FANTASTIC!!! I would give the recipe a five if it weren't for the 4 cups of flower they recommend...Like everyone mentioned, 3 cups is perfect and I ended up add a few tsp of water. I put the oil in the bowl, as the recipe asks for and found it easy to roll out the dough. For those of you new to this kind of dough, it's a bit like rubber when you play with it. Not that soft "bread dough" you might me used to. Now the trick is not to eat them all at once. Will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I made this recipe for my family and everyone loves it. I only put 3 cups of flour like a few others suggested and it was perfect. They are doughy and delicious, the best recipe I've tried so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Im happy with the result! I enjoyed doing it . Very good recipe with easy to follow instruction and video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is great recipe! I also add bit more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Quick, easy. Only thing that almost deterred me is having the yeast listed in terms of tsp as opposed to packets. I scaled the recipe to make 7 pretzels which corresponded to 1 packet of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The only ingredient I changed was to add 3 to 3 1/2 cups flour instead of the full 5 because that is what my dough would accept. The pretzels turned out too soft and sweet. I prefer the crispiness and flavor of the mall pretzels from this website, though they did taste better after they cooled and my family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Other than needing to add a little more oil (or consequently, add less flour), this recipe is great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Awesone, and super easy as well. Big hit at March Madness parties with a side of cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States