Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is my first review on this site and felt that I needed to thank you. This recipe is what I have been looking for, it works great with a bread machine. They were gone in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictorianLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jono
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
These are easy to make and are delicious. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Like most people, I cut back the flour. 4 cups is plenty and I added a bit more while kneading. I followed another suggestion that recommended placing the pretzels on a paper towel right after the baking soda wash so the bottom isn't dripping with the wash. This helps the bottoms not burn while baking. I think a lot of people might miss the part in the very beginning, the quote, where it says to add butter on top of them right after they're out of the oven. I melted some butter and brushed it on, and it made them just prefect. They're reminiscent of Auntie Anne's, with a yummy bread-like flavor. Over half of them were gone within 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Yum! Doyble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallon, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
these were awesome I followed the recipe exactly then when they came out I brushed them with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt the dough did need about 1/4 cup more water when mixing and I got more than 12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
First time making pretzels and they turned out pretty good, I would definitely start with less flour than the recipe states, I never really got the texture I wanted with the dough but it was still good anyway. I'll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dogma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I had previously tried one recipe before I came across this one. The first recipe was fair, did not turn out the way that I had expected. This recipe is delicious, time consuming but boy was it worth the wait. I could not believe how good it taste. I made mine with cinnamon sugar coating. Taste like Auntie Anne's to me. :) GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
We have made these multiple times and love them! We definitely use less flour as a lot of other have said. 3 cups maybe. We also took the suggestion and sprayed them with butter and salted them right before we put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I love making pretzels with the kids. It's a great activity for days when we're stuck inside or we have guests. Or we just need to slow down and calm down! I cut the dough into equal pieces and let the kids make their own shapes. They each get a cutting board with a little flour to work on. They have a ton of fun, the clean up is minimal, and it keeps us occupied for a good while. I couldn't find my usual recipe so I followed this one b/c it has such a high score with over 1500 reviews. I think these are a 3, my kids think they are a 5! These are much sweeter than my usual recipe that calls for just a few tablespoons of sugar. One of our guests who says she doesn't like pretzels loved how sweet they are and she probably ate half the plate! Usually I bring the water and baking soda to a boil and dunk them for 30-60 seconds. They look lumpy and weird when they come out but they bake up beautifully. I followed this recipe for the first batch to go in but they didn't get as nice of a crust as usual. For the rest I dunked them in boiling water and then came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I live in India and never really understood the big fuss around pretzels. My husband loves them so I decided to try my hand at making it at home. This recipe is easy to make and it is delicious. I replaced kosher salt with sea salt. Thank you so much for sharing this. This is going to be one of my go to recipes. My son and husband loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States