Buttery Soft Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
These are so delicious - just like the ones you can buy, but much, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonjagroset

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Family loved these pretzels. Great project for little kids too! The next time I make these, I will not use so much flour. I baked at 415 degrees for 9 minutes with the rack high in the oven and they turned out great. Gave them a brush of butter out of the oven too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
All I have to say is WOW! These are so amazing! The crust comes out a beautiful golden brown and the inside were soft and yummy! I did not add the whole 5 cups of flour though. I only used 3 cups and it came out perfect! Any more would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daizy7155
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Loved it. Used 4 cups of flour, kneaded 5 mins in the kitchen aid. Baked on top rack 6 mins at 400° everybody agreed better than either mall store. Super easy and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daizy7155

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Too much flour and probably not enough water. Too thick for me, but the flavor is okay. Might try again, but use a cookie press to make the "rope"... might make a difference. The rope comes out too dry. I think they may have needed to bake longer, too. 8 minutes at 450 "Might" be enough... but they seem a little too underdone to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Buckett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Great recipe. Needs a little tweaking, but the base recipe is good, and very simple. Having never eaten or made soft pretzels before, I didn't have much to compare to, except the small, crispy pretzels one buys in a bag. But this recipe made it easy. The rolling out was still kind of tedious, but *no* recipe is going to get you out of that. My tweaks: *Used more yeast due to the weather. Its too cold here to expect 4tsps to work that well. Increased to 2 tblsp and it worked great. *This recipe calls for too much flour for my elevation. (Then again, nearly EVERY recipe does. :P) So I started with 3 cups of flour, and that was plenty. Another half cup (roughly - put on by small amounts) used for dusting and making the dough non-sticky during kneading and during shaping. I also replaced the oil with butter for better flavour. *Sea Salt instead of kosher. End result GOOD flavour. I did find the dough was way too sweet for a pretzel. Next time I make them, will probably cut the sugar in half, or down to a tablespoon for the yeast. Also found the bottoms darkened faster than the rest. Lowered temp to 375 and bottoms were still overdone. Next time I might try brushing baking soda wash on, to keep the bottoms clear. Will retry this recipe with noted changes, though. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Fabulous! I've made these several times and they always turn out scrumptious! I followed the advice of others to use less flour and that's worked well for me. The only other change I make is to use half the amount of soda and hot water for dipping, and it's more than enough. I've also used this recipe to make pretzel rolls - it makes 12 dinner-sized or 8 large rolls. When making rolls, I stir a couple teaspoons of soda into 1/2 cup hot water. I form the rolls, place them on a parchment-lined baking sheet, and brush them with the soda water. After they've risen until double, I brush them again, sprinkle them with kosher salt, and cut a small "x" in the top of each one. I bake them at 425 degrees for 5 minutes, then turn the oven down to 350 for 10 minutes more. They look just like store-bought pretzel rolls, but taste so much better! However I make it, this recipe is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrewt
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best easiest pretzel recipe. Kids loved them. No changes to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It was an easy recipe to follow and the results are seriously fantastic!!! I only ended up needing 4 cups of flour and still had to add water. So I suggest only using a portion of what's called for and then adding more as needed. The 8 min cooking time is pretty exact too so don't walk away and forget them! DO the last step with the baking soda and water!!! I only did it with my last pretzel. They all turned out delicious, but the one that was dipped in baking soda and water, browned nicer without drying out on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I bake bread a lot. This is a good recipe. Don't skip the baking soda bath! It makes a big difference. I sprinkled some with fresh Parmesan cheese prior to baking. I got maybe 25 decent pretzels out of this...not meal sized but still nicely sized for a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States