Buttery Pan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
These were okay, but too heavy for my preference. They were sort of like a roll-biscuit hybrid. I will keep trying other roll recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I was ready to give this high reviews and in the last leg of the race it failed....miserably. My bread rose and did everything it was supposed to. All the time limits were perfect...except the cooking time. Spending 3 hours on food just for it to over cook on the outside and under cook on the inside. =/ very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
WOW! These were so easy and taste wonderful. I have been searching for an egg-free recipe for my daughter and she loves these. They came out perfect the first time I made them which happened to be the first time I made rolls of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great recipe. Took time but fortunately it was broken up in stages, which works for me! I made it with half whole wheat flour and it turned out great. Very good buns! I am quite pleased with the overall taste, appearance and texture and I quite like the slight crunch on the bottoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Paul, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I don't know what happened but these did not turn out well. I followed the recipe & they didn't rise much and didn't have much flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very tasty. Mixing with a wooden spoon instead of beating with an electric mixer worked just fine. Also making 24 balls and putting them in one 9 by 13 pan, with a slightly longer baking time. Went nicely with our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
If I were to rate on flavor alone, these rolls would easily earn 5 stars. As written, however, the dough doesn't rise as well as it does when the yeast is first proofed. Additionally, if this recipe makes 40 dinner rolls, I'd think they'd have to be the size of golf balls! Neither time, even with proofing the yeast, did I get anywhere near 40. It's definitely a keeper w/ modifications. Thank you sharing for the recipe, and Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Snell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Findley Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Tionesta, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was my first attempt at dinner rolls, and they turned out great! The only changes I made were to use 1/2 whole wheat flour and not dip them in butter. I used them to make sliders - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I wanted a refrigerated type of roll dough, and i decided to try this as I couldn't remember mine from about 40 yrs ago, and didn't have success locating one on AR dictionary. I doubled the recipe, elimenated the butter, usedhaalf/half that had soured, used an excellent local olive oil freshly pressed with meyer lemon and 1/1/2c spelt flour,1/1/2 rye flour the rest a mix of bread flour, unbleached white and cake flour, and added a little extra yeast. It is presently resting in my refridgerator in a 6 qt. ceramic crock pot till I'm ready to bake several buns for my husband's sanwiches,and freeze the resst. Let you know the rest of the story.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. Light weight, butter gives a good flavor. I will bake these for our next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States