Buttery Lemon Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
The lemon and butter flavor is a nice compliment to the spinach. I simply sauteed the spinach in a skillet with the butter (I used a little olive oil too) and garlic and then finished with a splash of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I always saute spinach but this microwave cooking method interested me for its ease of preparation. I was very disappointed in the results. The cooking time as well as the method is insufficient to cook the garlic, leaving the strong, raw taste of it. Also, microwaving did not allow the juices released from the spinach as it wilted to evaporate. It was a fun try, but I'll continue to give spinach and garlic a quick saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Delicious.....I omitted the butter and used olive oil instead. Loved the freshness of the lemon juice and I added a little red pepper flakes for some heat. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
We really enjoyed this spinach. I cooked mine on the stovetop in a skillet. I simmered the garlic in 2 Tbsp. lemon juice, 2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, 2 Tbsp. olive oil, and a pinch of kosher salt and some fresh ground black pepper. Then I added the spinach and cooked until it was just wilted. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Wow! What a delicious spinach recipe! Nice & light. I followed the recipe exactly, would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcqueenbee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I took a short cut with this - used a steam in microwave bag of spinach (14 oz.) Why go to all that trouble? Did not use that much butter - I just added lemon juice, a little lite butter, minced garlic, salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Not good :( I was so excited because it looked so easy and I love all the ingredients. I ended up having to put it in a frying pan and saute it for 7 minutes to make it edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent and very easy. I would have never microwaved spinach before now. It came out pleasantly "par" wilted. I will cut the lemon in half next time as it was a little to tart for 2 out of 4. Perfect recipe if you have conflicting spinach consistency views. I like fresh and raw my husband likes cooked down and sauteed. It was a cross between both and a great middle ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I microwaved on high for 3 mins to get it perfectly between too under-done and too wilted. Used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 butter. I also listened to another reviewer and added some red pepper flakes. It was great, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This has to be the easiest thing I've ever made. Only thing was I did have to nuke it for two minutes longer, but then it was wonderful! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa Moorman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States