Buttery Herb Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I thought this was great. I added a half a onion and garlic when I added the mushrooms I used a fresh mushroom mix. I also did not add the egg. My husband, who is not a mushroom pasta fan said it was good, but I could tell he didnt think it was great. I loved it though. I served it over penne pasta and steamed peas on the side. also I baked some chicken peices coated in italian breadcrumbs at 350 for 15 min and they were great on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I gave it four stars because as a base its really good, but with adding garlic (about 5 cloves if double recipe like I do) its fantastic! I have also made this by adding Hormel bacon bits as well. I also ditch the egg like other reviewers. I don't think its necessary. Excellent sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This is a quick and easy sauce that I used to put on baked chicken. I made a couple of changes. I left out the salt and did not have any eggs so I made it without it and used fresh mushrooms and I used half and half I didn't have the cream.It tasted great. The next time I won't put in the flour we like it on the thinner side I had to add more cream to thin it. I will be putting this on my rotation of meals. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phil
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
It was definitely salty. I recommend not using the 1 tsp of salt and cutting back on the broth. Maybe 3/4 cup of broth or find a low sodium broth. Other than it being salty, i would also leave out the egg, nless you are quick at making this. This recipe is very time sensitive. If your not quick about adding the egg and watching it on a very low heat, the egg will scramble. The taste is great, just a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I cannot eat wheat gluten and in restaurants that means a lot of sauces are off limits. I substituted the wheat flour for Bob's Red Mill all purpose gluten free flour and it came out beautifully! I used fresh portobellos and added diced onions. Since the egg is added to the cream before cooking there was no hint of an issue with scrambling the egg (kept it on very low heat though to be sure). Super easy nice recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Millersport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This worked out great. I did use milk (since that's all that I had) and no egg because I was afraid I wasn't talented enough to avoid the scrambled egg effect. I added garlic -- as one review suggested -- and nothing else different. It was terrific over pasta. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RENENIC

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is a really yummy sauce. I made it as is, except for doubling the sauce (because I'm an extra sauce person), adding some minced fresh garlic (because I really like garlic, and who doesn't?) and using whole milk instead of heavy cream (because that's what I had). I'm sure the cream would have given the sauce a much more decadent thickness and flavor. I ended up boiling the sauce, against recipe advice, because it didn't thicken up enough, which I'm sure was my fault in using whole milk instead of cream. It worked out great though, by constantly stiring with a wire whisk. And, I didn't end up with scrambled eggs! I served with shrimp and pasta and was very happy with the result. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I gave this a 5 star because it had simple great ingredients. I used fresh mushrooms, 1/2tsp of salt, and whole milk. I did mixed the egg at the end. The milk and egg give it a creamy taste that helps balances the whole recipe. Just be very carefull that the heat in really low when adding the egg at the end because it will curd up and that's not what you want. So just keep mixing and take it off the heat. I really loved it with some plain pasta. I will be making this again. My son who is three just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teddybearplus2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Oh my gosh! Tastes like something served at Carrabba's. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States