Buttery Garlic Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is one of my most favorite ways to make green beans. I like to add a little finely minced onion to the skillet with the garlic as well. I usually double this recipe because my family inhales it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Use real garlic -- dry, minced garlic didn't do anything for the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These were just ok. I used real garlic and more than called for-glad I did. A few pinches of lemon pepper doesn't add substantial flavor, nor were they all that buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I really like this method of green beans! I have to say I stepped it up by adding chicken bouillon to the water while parboiling the beans, and then using both garlic powder and fresh garlic when sauteeing in the butter. This is a staple in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Delicious! I didn't have any lemon pepper but the dish didn't seem to be the worse for it. A great way to add some veggies into any diet. Next time I think I may add some lemon juice for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Gonzales

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Meade, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Everyone in my house thought this was fantastic. I was looking for a green recipe that did not use bacon as we did not have any and this hit the spot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Great base recipe for fresh green beans; the simmer, drain, saute method helps maintain crispness and color. Started garlic in the butter before adding beans back in. Subbed fresh cracked black pepper and juice of one small lemon at the end instead of dry mix, and it was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelagh Adam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Just tried it. I cooked mine longer because I prefer softer textured green beans. I used fresh cloves of garlic as well as a little bit of minced garlic and browned it (almost tasted like bacon bits). I also used a bit of sea salt. Came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
eh, pretty boring. I needed extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I liked this, as did the 14 other people at the Valentine's dinner I just came home from. Steamed the beans to the desired degree of crunch, washed under cold water, then put into the pan with the topping. Didn't have lemon pepper so used a bit of lime zest and lime juice. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States