Buttery Crunch Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This Recipe was fantastic, Highly recommend, except before baking I would suggest sticking the crust with a fork before baking to prevent any bubbles from forming. totally delicious, even my non-crust eating teenager gobbled it up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I was not impressed with this crust. It was certainly easy to make and it was sufficent with the custard pie that I made, but it just lacked the flavor needed for me to give it a 5. A tip: if using this crust with a cooked pie (as opposed to a bannana cream or something) DO NOT COOK THE CRUST SEPERATELY! It will be overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Yummy, this crust was good. Ironically though, I am not a fan of most nuts so I substituted with Grape Nuts cereal and that worked very well. Very easy to prepare. This is also excellent with cheesecake. Great variation from boring old graham crackers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
If you're looking for a tastier alternative to a graham cracker crust, this is it. It's pretty yummy. I don't know how you could get enough out of this recipe to use half for the crust and half for topping. It has to be miswritten. My modifications: I toasted the pecans for a more intense flavor. I also toasted some coconut and ground it up in my food processor and added that in. The nuts and coconut came out to about 3/4 cup, so I decreased the flour by 1/4 cup. That was a good change, and was awesome with coconut cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoDoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This was the first pie crust I have ever made. I baked a perfect pie crust to compliment a coconut cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I loved this crust! I used a ceramic pie plate and had difficulty getting the crust out intact. Next time I'll grease the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This was my first attempt at making crust from scratch and it was EXCELLENT!! I didn't have any pecans so I used almonds instead. My husband loved it and it couldn't have been easier or quicker. If you're like me and terrible at rolling things out then this recipe is definitely for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This was delicious. I surfed the net since I had extra pie filling but lacked pie crust. Perfect pumpkin pie (using walnuts). I'm not an avid cook and was very pleased how easy this was to make! Hopefully I will find more receipes like this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Hmmm...this crust would have made a good cookie. I loved the fact that it only took me about 5 minutes to make and it used melted butter rather than room temp. I paired this with a French Silk Chocolate Pie which was a bad idea..(I should have used a more delicate crust). I think this would be good with maybe a pumpkin or lemon pie. I'm giving this 4 stars for the ease and taste..(it was like a pecan shortbread). Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Super Easy & great for many differnt types of pies. Used this with the Cinnamon Pie from this site and it was really good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States