Buttery Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This recipe was great. everybody loved it. the only differences that i had when i made it was that i used orange juice instead of lemon juice, and i added extra sugar instead of salt. i think that this recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This will only be appreciated by fans of a very tart fruit pie. Spectacular cranberry flavor, and sour enough to make you squeal, even with the large amount of sugar. It could have used even more. Even my husband, who adores rhubarb pies and cherry pies because of their tartness had a tough time eating this one. I used orange juice in place of water, and in retrospect, probably should have used it in place of the lemon juice as well. This pie needs no further acid beyond what the cranberries already bring to the table. I increased the butter to 2 tablespoons, as I fail to see how a mere 2 teaspoons could live up to the title of a "buttery" pie (and 2 Tb is not a lot for a 9" pie.) Added 1 tsp grated orange peel and 1/4 tsp mace, which goes perfectly with the flavor of cranberries. The color is a deep crimson, a perfect centerpiece for your holiday table. Just know that the sourness of this pie is so intense that it might not appeal to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
Very good pie for cranberry lovers. As it has already been said, it is quite sourbitter, and some people may not enjoy it for that reason. Watch out, for the cranberry filling bubbles and rises a little bit when cooking, so make sure to place your pie plate on a cookie sheet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I liked this recipe because it's simple and because it calls for cooking the craberries on the stove top. This makes for shorter oven time and lessens the chance of over cooking the pie crust which sometimes happens. I also added about 2-3 cups of cut apples to the filling after the cranberries cooked and some cinnamon and it turned out fabulous! If you have a deep pie dish I recommend adding something as the recipe amount is not enough to properly fill a deep dish. Great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This was an absolute hit on Thanksgiving. My family was a bit hesitant to try it but RAVED after one bite. This will defentily be a holiday tradition. I cut down some time on this recipe by using a Pillsbury crust and making a crumb topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have been making this pie for a VERY long time. You can use 1/2 the sugar by doing 1/2 splenda if it makes you feel better!?!?! My guys LOVE this pie with a dollop of Edy's Swiss Orange ice cream-sherbet with flecks of dark chocolate!! It is so popular with my friends and family that I am only invited anywhere between Nov-Jan if I bring at least one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This makes a really yummy pie with that tart zing of cranberries. Everybody liked it The pie looks great -give people a surprise as it looks just like cherry pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
Very Good -- Very Tart! Do not drink milk after eating this pie, it turns sour in your mouth. But I loved the flavor of the pie. It was different and a nice treat. I used frozen cranberries (thawed) and it turned out nicely. I also don't like crust so instead of a top crust I made a crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austintown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Milton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
I found this pie to be a bit tart for my liking. Not sure if cutting down on the lemon juice would help or not? I will make this again with less lemon juice before I decide if this is a keeper or not. Maybe ice cream would help! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was a very good pie and a great use of the extra cranberries I had left over from Thanksgiving. I was a little nervous after reading the reviews that it might be to tart and so I did do a couple of things. I used a little less cranberries (about half of what it called for) and then replaced the remainder with Raspberries. I also left out the lemon juice but would leave it in next time. The pie turned out good. I would make it again. The only other thing I would change is I would add some instant tapioca to the filling. It was a bit runny, even though it was tasty. One other detail... I used a deep dish pie crust. Wanted to be safe. Glad I did because it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Erickson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States