Buttery Cooked Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars only because my picky son said he liked it ok. The rest of the family thought it was very good. I used frozen carrots. Cooked them as directed on bag. Then made the sauce. I did not use the water as other directed. I agree it would be to much liquid with the water. Without it was perfect!! Thanks for the recipe. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is a quick and good way to make carrots, if a bit basic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Honestly, they were a littly watery (most likely because I didn't know how much water to leave in the pan). Next time I would drain ALL of the water. I think the butter is enough to create a nice glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Tasty and easy. I didn't weigh my carrots so I am not sure if I started with a pound. I added 2 T butter and 1/4 cup brown sugar but wound up adding a bit more at the end. I also drained the water first - I think this is better. Otherwise it would have been too soupy. I recommend this recipe, but start slow with the butter and sugar and just add to taste instead of following these measurements. Some people have more of a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineola, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Didn't care much for these. They had a weird taste, and I wasn't sure how long to boil them for the best texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Nothing too special tasting; won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I used real butter in place of the margarine and skipped the water. I also used whole carrots cut up in place of baby carrots. I let them simmer a while to get the carrots 'candied'. There were no leftovers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were awesome for how quick and easy they were to make. My husband doesn't usually like carrots but he commented on how these were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
My picky husband devoured these last night! I didn't leave any water in the pan when cooking the butter and it was plenty juicy enough. I also sliced up regular carrots because i like the way they cook better. Next time i think i'll add a T or 2 more of brown sugar, because i just wanted a slight more sugary taste. These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Not bad. Could have used a little more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fong Chun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States