Buttery Cooked Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These are good, but were a little watery. That could have been my fault. I used Splenda brown sugar for my diabetic son-in-law. You can hardly tell the difference, so it's a great alternative to my usual butter and maple syrup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
very tasty way to dress up carrots. I used locally grown carrots ( red, yellow and orange), cut into 2 inch sticks. I cooked the carrots in a pot of water and once the carrots were fork tender, I drained the water and set it aside. To the same pot, I used butter instead of margarine and only 2 T. I added about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and let both the butter and sugar come to a boil before adding the carrots back. I tossed the carrots around to evenly coat them with the sauce. I let them sit for 5 minutes to allow for the flavors to come together before serving. I did not want the carrots to drown in the sugar sauce just enough to taste. The sauce was very tasty, not overpowering. I enjoyed the carrots which still had a nice tender yet slight firm bite to it. Overall, I am glad I did not use the full 1/4 cup of butter and cut back a little on the brown sugar (might have been too sweet for me). There were no leftovers , my family ate them all up. I served these with grilled rib eye steaks and creamy sweet corn, from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
These were really good. Made exactly as written using leftover carrots from a veggie tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious!! I cooked the carrots until they were slightly undercooked and then added the butter and brown sugar. I then cooked them until they were tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
i just eyeballed some butter and some brown sugar. mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
We thought these were pretty good. I used white sugar instead of brown because my stepmother made fabulous carrots with white sugar, and butter instead of margarine. Next time, I will omit the extra water, as others have, because I found the sauce a little too watery; not enough cling to the carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Sauce a little watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Only one word can describe these = AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I hate carrots but I have to start eating them because I have to show a good example to my child so I tried this recipe. It is so good! Next time I will make more carrots as I wanted more. That's how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Omitted the water in the sauce, and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States