Buttery Cooked Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
What can I say? Simple and delicious! Here is a tip to make the sauce less runny... I did NOT leave any water in the pan when melting the butter with the brown sugar. This makes for a thicker sauce and when you add your carrots back in the pan, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
872 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I steamed the carrots instead of boiling them to keep more of the flavor and nutrients. I don't like my vegetables really sweet, so I used about 1 1/2 tbsp butter and 3 tbsp brown sugar. It was just enough to make them slightly sweet without hiding the natural good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
These are tasty carrots. For as much as I am hip on conveinence, I cut up regular carrots vs. using baby carrots, they just have much more flavor. Anyway, I melted the brown sugar with the butter (skipping the water) & added it to the steamed carrots & it was fine. Thanks Rebecca, for the sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I don't like cooked carrots as a sidedish by themselves (reminds me of baby food)...rather I like them IN dishes. However, this is the only dish I make an exception for. My mom has been making this since I was little and I make it when I am pressed for time in making dinner a complete and well-rounded meal. However, like another reviewer also said, get rid of all the water, its not neccessary. Also, I just use a TBLS or two of butter. It's fantastic with the many main dish chicken meals also found on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Delicious!! I steamed them instead of boiling, then melted the margarine in the microvave. I also added about a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg. I microwaved them for about 2 minutes just before serving them, so they'd be nice and hot. My husband and I absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
A bit bland, but good. It needed some spices. I added some garlic, rosemary and lemon juice to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I took the advice of some other reviewers and steamed the carrots. I also used a squeeze of lemon, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and a 1/4 teaspoon of nut meg. I also had a carrots marinate in the sauce for about 20 minutes before serving, I just covered the dish with an lid. This recipe was a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This was the best recipe I've used for carrots and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I've been making carrots with brown sugar and butter for years. Hubby just loves them like this. They are not too sweet. I use canned carrots and do them in the microwave. Very easy. Using a little of the can juice to microwave them the butter and brown sugar end up being sort of a sweet marinade instead of really a sauce. I don't thicken it and actually discard most of the marinade. Just a little bit of the sweet flavor on the carrots is all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I serveed these last night at a church social. Everyone loved them and commented on how yummy they were. I liked that I could put in the total servings and you scaled the recipe for me so I got the right amount of ingredients. I drained the carrots completely and made the glaze seperately then poured then together about 5 minutes before sreving and let the marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States