Buttery Cooked Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
What can I say? Simple and delicious! Here is a tip to make the sauce less runny... I did NOT leave any water in the pan when melting the butter with the brown sugar. This makes for a thicker sauce and when you add your carrots back in the pan, it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
877 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I steamed the carrots instead of boiling them to keep more of the flavor and nutrients. I don't like my vegetables really sweet, so I used about 1 1/2 tbsp butter and 3 tbsp brown sugar. It was just enough to make them slightly sweet without hiding the natural good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
These are tasty carrots. For as much as I am hip on conveinence, I cut up regular carrots vs. using baby carrots, they just have much more flavor. Anyway, I melted the brown sugar with the butter (skipping the water) & added it to the steamed carrots & it was fine. Thanks Rebecca, for the sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I don't like cooked carrots as a sidedish by themselves (reminds me of baby food)...rather I like them IN dishes. However, this is the only dish I make an exception for. My mom has been making this since I was little and I make it when I am pressed for time in making dinner a complete and well-rounded meal. However, like another reviewer also said, get rid of all the water, its not neccessary. Also, I just use a TBLS or two of butter. It's fantastic with the many main dish chicken meals also found on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
A bit bland, but good. It needed some spices. I added some garlic, rosemary and lemon juice to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Delicious!! I steamed them instead of boiling, then melted the margarine in the microvave. I also added about a half teaspoon of cinnamon and a quarter teaspoon of nutmeg. I microwaved them for about 2 minutes just before serving them, so they'd be nice and hot. My husband and I absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I took the advice of some other reviewers and steamed the carrots. I also used a squeeze of lemon, 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon, and a 1/4 teaspoon of nut meg. I also had a carrots marinate in the sauce for about 20 minutes before serving, I just covered the dish with an lid. This recipe was a favorite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
This was the best recipe I've used for carrots and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
I've been making carrots with brown sugar and butter for years. Hubby just loves them like this. They are not too sweet. I use canned carrots and do them in the microwave. Very easy. Using a little of the can juice to microwave them the butter and brown sugar end up being sort of a sweet marinade instead of really a sauce. I don't thicken it and actually discard most of the marinade. Just a little bit of the sweet flavor on the carrots is all you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I serveed these last night at a church social. Everyone loved them and commented on how yummy they were. I liked that I could put in the total servings and you scaled the recipe for me so I got the right amount of ingredients. I drained the carrots completely and made the glaze seperately then poured then together about 5 minutes before sreving and let the marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Candied Carrots

See how to make sautéed carrots in a simple brown sugar and butter glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States