Buttery Cinnamon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I cut the cake recipe in half but kept the amount of glaze as-is. It's a lovely, simple cake. I've made it as travel snacks, so I'm hoping it'll stay moist and tasty until my fiancee and I fly the day after tomorrow. Of course, he might eat it first...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
So easy to make it :) and the ingredients are simple - I didn't even have to go to a shop, as I had everything already. I used butter instead of shortening - same amount - and let me tell you this cake was delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Nice basic cinnamon cake. Very light. I added a bit more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Schena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurie C.
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I chose this recipe to try to get rid of some Cinnamon Vanilla coffee creamer that I didn't like as coffee creamer. I used the creamer in place of the milk in the recipe, and also in place of the water for the glaze! This cake was SO light and moist, the glaze was delicious. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Excellent recipe but I would suggest adding more cinnamon. I did so and it tasted super good, 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon is too little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This cake was moist and light! Delicious! Great to have for breakfast with coffee and tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Lovely recipe, but like others, I had to up the cinnamon in this recipe. I also added diced crystallized ginger, which is always a hit in a spice or cinnamon cake. Serving it with cinnamon cream cheese frosting made it so everyone was coming back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
The cake turned out really moist for me and the syrup was excellent. I also tweaked the recipe but it was already a great recipe to start with. I like alot of flavor so I also added 2TBS to the batter and used dark brown sugar instead of light or white. I beat the batter extremely well each time an ingredient was added and until it was smooth as a babys bottom. I also sifted all my ingredients together. With the syrup which turned out excellent, I added 2 teaspoons cinnamon.I only substitued the white sugar with dark brown and brought to a boil then turned it down to a simmer and whisked it for about 5 to 7 minutes and it turned into a beautiful dark brown thick glaze. It was delicious just make sure you flour your pan well and give it time to cool in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reeltown, Alabama, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
doubled cinnamon made it in 9" round turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
VERY good cake. This will be my go to cake on many occasions. Thanks for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States