Buttery Alfredo Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is by far better than other alfredo sauces I have tried - those end up being greasy or the butter and cream separating. I used real parmagiano-reggiano and asiago instead of fontina. I served this with farfalle pasta, grilled chicken breasts that were thinly sliced, 6 slices of julienned bacon that I rendered until crisp, I sauteed chopped onion and the minced garlic in the bacon drippings -- drained all of those and set it aside. I also diced 3 roma tomatoes and wahed 3 cups of fresh baby spinach. I made the alfredo sauce in a large, deep skillet and when it was done I added the al dente pasta. Then I added the sliced chicken breast, bacon, onions, garlic, tomatoes and spinach. I stirred the ingredients until combined, covered the skillet and brought it up to temperature on low heat, stirring occasionally until the spinach was wilted. Delicious doesn't even come close to describing the meal - much better than I've eaten at any chain Italian restaurant... and the sauce was the star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Thank you so much for this recipe! It was the best I've ever had and I've been married to a chef for 21 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gansevoort, New York, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is absolutely excellent!!!! It is very rich and high in fat so it is only a special occasion recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grant Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beecher, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
OMG! I knew this was greatness after my first taste. I omitted the fontina cheese and used a Parmesan, Romano, asiago blend instead and salted butter. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly; cutting everything in half to make a smaller portion. I felt like a rock star when I was done, and I was stuffed when my bowl was empty. I put the sauce on farfalle pasta with grilled chicken, spinach and mushrooms. This was better than what I would have gotten in a restaurant. Now when I have a craving for some pasta Alfredo, I can just make it at home. I can't wait to try it with some shrimp and fettuccine. This really is a fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was very good. I did 1/4 of the recipe since I only needed a small amount. Added several good twists of freshly ground sea salt and black pepper and several dashes of dried basil; left out the fontina and used a little water instead of the whole milk. Also used 1 clove garlic, finely chopped, instead of minced garlic. Delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I've made many an alfredo sauce in my lifetime and this is the VERY BEST! OUTSTANDING! The key is cooking it slowly and baby it a little. It takes time but it is so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I am an alfredo sauce junkie and I absolutely LOVED this recipe! This is by far the best alfredo sauce I've had (including fancy Italian places). Definitely very rich (ok, fattening!)and should be reserved for special occasions, but SO worth it! I made crab alfredo using this sauce for my new husband on Valentines's Day and it was perfect! Nothing says "I love you" like crab alfredo! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
THIS IS GREAT! I just added 3 tablespoon of fresh pesto and a 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rujames1044

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Best sauce I've ever had. Been searching this one. Thank you! I may add onion next time but it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaGray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Other than using salted butter instead of unsalted, I followed this to a "t". We thought it was very good. We have another that we do like better that uses parm & romano but I'd def use this recipe again if I happened to have fontina around. Thanks, Crystal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Alfredo Sauce I

This pasta sauce is creamy, rich, and super easy.

Creamy Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a rich, creamy Alfredo sauce for pasta and chicken dishes.

Alfredo Sauce

See how to make a scrumptious creamy cheese sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States