Buttertart Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I thought these called for way too much sugar and were therefore gritty when eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Excellent and easy to make. I don't know what happened, but the 2nd time I made them I must have done something wrong. They looked aweful but tasted sinful, so even if you screw up, as long as its not too bad they still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
These taste exactly like butter tarts! They are tasty and easy to make. Personally, I would double the crust next time because my crust was too thin in a 8 by 8 inch pan. I would recommend refrigerating before cutting, because it is very gooey if you try to cut it before fully cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I liked these a lot. Better than the ones I usually buy in the store. However, I did cut back on the brown sugar, and added a little extra coconut. The filling was a little too gooey, but maybe that was because of my changes. Nonetheless, great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I love buttertart squares- but I don't like these. The top is too crusty and the filling is too gooey. I've definitely had much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I'm not even a huge butter tart fan, but these squares are unbelievably good. I followed the recipe exactly (including the optional ingredients) - except I doubled it and used a 9 by 13 pan (did not need to adjust baking time at all). To the reviewer who said their crust was crumbly, the only thing I can think of was that they didn't work the butter in enough with a pastry blender. My crust was perfect. As another reviewer suggested, I refrigerated it first before cutting. I also stored it in the fridge to keep the squares firm. The only negative thing I could possibly say about this recipe is that it's so addictive, it's almost impossible not to overindulge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I didn't think the appearance was good, but they were definetely tasty! My husband wants me to try doubling the filling, and make it more thick next time. I have to agree it was kind of thin. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Excellent!! Highly suggest!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Gardner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
These were very easy to make but a bit difficult to get out of the pan maybe I left them in the pan for too long. I cut them in the pan in the end and then removed them one at a time only one breakage that way. Oldest daughter enjoyed them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Oh my god! Why have I never heard of this before? These were absolutely delicious, a perfect mix of shortbread crust and gooey topping. SO good, and so fast, too. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States