Buttertart Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I'm not even a huge butter tart fan, but these squares are unbelievably good. I followed the recipe exactly (including the optional ingredients) - except I doubled it and used a 9 by 13 pan (did not need to adjust baking time at all). To the reviewer who said their crust was crumbly, the only thing I can think of was that they didn't work the butter in enough with a pastry blender. My crust was perfect. As another reviewer suggested, I refrigerated it first before cutting. I also stored it in the fridge to keep the squares firm. The only negative thing I could possibly say about this recipe is that it's so addictive, it's almost impossible not to overindulge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Pretty good... I had to make a few adjustments though. 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar was too much for me, so I added 1 cup instead. I didn't think the coconut flakes was a good idea but I used it anyways. I was suprised that I couldn't even taste it. I also added in a handful of chopped walnuts. That really helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Just like a real butter tart!! I love baking, but pastry just is not my thing, so these were perfect! I cut the sugar back by half, added the coconut, raisins & some walnuts, i also used maple flavour instead of vanilla. Big hit with everybody :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
These tasted great but what a mess coming out of the pan and trying to eat. I didn't use the "optional" coconut or raisins. I would imagine they are what holds the recipe together and probably shouldn't be optional. Otherwise they were really good and do taste like a butter tart. Also, this is probably the easiest recipe I have ever prepared. About 15 min and I had them cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schreiber, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Very good! Grease the pan with butter generously before baking and they will not sick. Even easier to get out of pan if you use a pyrex dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
My new favorite recipe! These are soooo good, I wish I'd tried them sooner. Followed the recipe exactly as written. One thing to note - after you've beaten the eggs combine the rest of the ingredients by hand, stirring only until just blended. Don't use your mixer. This will help prevent the squares from coming out runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe was DELICIOUS - I made it for a cake sale and they sold out within half an hour! The only thing I would suggest is can look a bit plain, so I drizzled melted plain chocolate over the top - it looked fantastic. Thanks so much, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
speechless!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeble

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I've made these squares several times now, and have often taken them to gatherings. They are so quick and easy to make - truly a fool proof recipe. Every time I've taken them to a function I've had people ask for the recipe. This is a real favourite around here. The only thing I do is multiple the recipe by 1.5 to make a 9"X13" pan at a time. I also line the pan with parchment paper so when cooled they just lift out for cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Very tasty but very sweet. I'd cut the brown sugar down to 1 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique DesRoches Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States