Buttertart Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
These are so good. I get great reviews whenever I make them. For some reason even though they are really really sweet, they are still extremely addicting, one small square never seems to be enough. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
These are very good and really rich. They kind of remind me of pecan pie bars without the pecans. That being said, I think they could be improved by adding nuts! I don't like coconut, so I didn't add that, and I felt like they could use something more. Some cashews would be pretty decadent and yummy. Or mixed nuts. Preferably salted nuts to cut the sweetness a bit. They're super easy too, by the way. My bf has a huge sweet tooth, and his only comment was 'Bravo!' Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Very good, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This is perfect. Exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANINE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
These are absolutely TO DIE FOR, and barely made it through one night here at my house. They are exquisitely sweet and great with a super cold glass of milk. The only change I made to the recipe was to omit the oats, because I didn't have any. The squares were still sticky, moist and absolutely excellent. Be sure to grease the bottom and sides of the pan extremely well. I also tented them towards the end (for about the last five minutes) to get a nice browned top. Cool thoroughly, then place the squares in the fridge before even attempting to cut them. Overall, a definite keeper - the family is already requesting another batch over here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This recipe was DELICIOUS - I made it for a cake sale and they sold out within half an hour! The only thing I would suggest is can look a bit plain, so I drizzled melted plain chocolate over the top - it looked fantastic. Thanks so much, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Easy to make, easy to eat! This is a Christmas treat in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Everyone loved this at my garden club meeting. I had to make two batches, using two different pans. The pyrex pan squares had a much flakier crust. The metal pan squares were undercooked. If you need to use a metal pan, an extra 3-5 minutes should be added to the cooking time to assure the crust is cooked through. In addition, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup and found the squares plenty sweet! I might go a little less next time I make this recipe. Any other dried fruit would be fun to try...cherries, apricots, dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
They were good. Very very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was soooo good even though I didn't have any coconut. They lasted less than one day in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States