Buttertart Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made these squares exactly as the recipe is written and they were absolutely amazing! I have to laugh though when they say it makes 24 servings in a 9 X 9 pan! Really??!! That's one way to keep the calorie count down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Sharp Eberlein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'm honestly not sure what a "butter tart" is, particularly since there is no butter other than in the crust. This was WAY too sweet! (I should have read the reviews about adjusting the sugar before baking it, especially after I kept wondering about the quantity of 1 1/2 cups.) While I followed the recipe, I was intrigued with the optional additions and decided to try adding butterscotch morsels. Unfortunately, this probably added to the sweetness as well. This seemed more like candy than a tart/cookie/cake. It was easy to make, I had no problem with getting it out of the pan and it did not fall apart when I did remove a piece. I definitely would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Made this last night, yikes, so good! I did 1.5 times the recipe in a 9x13 glass pan. I think doubling it would make it too thick and even more rich. I need to hide it from the family (and myself!) until Christmas. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Loved making these squares. I had to work a little with the recipe but I found that using 1 1/4 cup of sugar worked well when I did not use raisins or coconut. I looked at some of the suggestions about how to maintain a soft layer on top and was able to come up with a suggestion that combined a few ideas. I used a metal pan for making the cakes but bought a few foil pans to put on the top of the pans 10 minutes before taking them out and left them on until they cooled. This created the 'tent' effect in a quick and easy way for me. I also ground the oatmeal and this made the squares very similar to butter tarts. So far they have been a success. With me anyway as I feel I ate a whole pan on my own! This was a fun and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
So good! And easy, which is the best part, followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have coconut so i used raisins and chopped walnuts.. My crust turned out perfectly- not crumbly like others have added, you really need to work the butter into the flour/sugar mixture and it will turn out perfect.. Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny~Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is an awesome recipe. Easy to make. Tons of compliments. Made the recipe exact. Didn't add the optional coconut. Just a nice balance of sweetness. I have made many squares in my life, and this one is in the top 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Perfect!! My husband loves these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlcosmicxo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Amazing! I cut down on the sugar and omitted the coconut, other than that I kept it the same. Easy to make and a super taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
this is very yummy and very addicting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States