Butterscotch Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe and they came out perfectly. They are very sweet, but they have a great flavor. I have no idea what you would have to do to these to have them come out 'hard as a rock' as a previous reviewer stated. Old, hard marshmallows? I actually had to leave mine overnight for them to really firm up. They were very soft and gooey. The second time I made them I tried 1/2 butterscotch chips and 1/2 chocolate chips and I think they were even better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Delicious but more melted butterscotch or chocolate chipits would make it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Do NOT melt the marshmallows, folks!! They are supposed to be all colorful and yummy. The butter, peanut butter, and chips are melted. Then you add the marshmallows and cereal. They are meant to be whole and delicious. I've also had this many times w/o the cereal. It is a fun treat. Just do not make them like rice krispie bars -- the submitter did not mean for them to be melted -- see the description in step 2. Look at the pic for Rocky Road drops by adellois and you'll better be able to picture what this is like! Now, yes, you can get crazy creative and add many things to the colored marshmallows-- like different cereals, M&Ms, choco mini chips, some white choco chips.... This treat is a classic. Maybe some of you need to see some other pictures to see how this is to look. It cuts through lovely and is fun to have all of the colors showing from the marshmallows! We always have made it in a buttered 9x13 (w/o rice cereal, 9x9) dish, and cooled it to get it to set. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Recipe is very good overall. I used marshmallow fluff to avoid the added cornstarch in mini marshmallows (about 7 oz). Definitely needs more rice krispies. I used a little more than 4 cups and still didn't think it was enough. Also if your a peanut butter lover I would add more peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I only put i 1 1/2 cups of marshmallows. I added 5 or so cups of rice crispes!!! FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I melted the butter & peanut butter together in a large pot on the stove top over low heat then I added the butterscotch chips and stirred them until melted. Next I added the marshmallows stirring until melted and finally I mixed in 4 cups of Rice Krispies and then transferred everything to the 9x13 pan to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Excellent! Super easy sweet treat! Only make if you've got friends/family to share with as they're almost as rich as fudge. Look much prettier with rainbow colored marshmallows. ** I also upped the amount of rice krispies to almost 4 cups. **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy319
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
YUM, these were great! I also used 4 cups of Rice Krispies and used snowman marshmallows for the holidays. I melted the chips, butter, and PB in the microwave together as well, this was so easy and they were a big hit! They are really sweet, but that's what makes them wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this last Halloween and have had several requests/expectations that it will be at our party this year. The one thing I did last year to help it stick all together better was melt some semi-sweet choc. chips and drizzle and spead it over the top. It added a wonderful something extra. So, so rich and yummy. If you like butterscotch, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This is a good recipe and one that I will make again. The only changes I made was that I used Ric Chex and melted the butter and marshmellow together as if I was making a rice krispie treat. Added the remaining ingredient and also added a cup of coctail peanuts. Yummy for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seb

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States