Butterscotch Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This is the BEST cake!!!!! Okay....I didnt use butterscotch. I used pumpkin instant pudding. It was incredible! It was spicy with the cinnamon and you could really taste the pumpkin. The cake was moist and so soft. This would be great with a cream cheese frosting or glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Great recipe for the whole family to enjoy! Used a yellow cake mix instead of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I had to make changes only because I didn't have any butterscotch pudding on hand so I used vanilla. I did have butterscotch chips though. First I mixed the pudding mix and cake mix together with a whisk. Then I took out about 2 heaping tablespoons of the mix and tossed a 12 ounce package of butterscotch chips to keep them from sinking in the cake and folded in after I was done mixing all the other ingredients. So we shall see and I will edit when done. Also, subbed half of the water with vanilla nut creamer and added extra spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, ground clove). The batter tasted bomb and I am hoping that transfers to the finished product. I do plan on doing a cream cheese frosting with this cake and I will let you girls know.***on edit***The cake is delicious, I had to fight my hubby for a bite of his piece so I could finish my review ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlingDash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I added caramel frosting and a few chopped pecans to decorate the top. It looked nice and my youngest daughter loved it. I was a little disappointed, as the cake itself mostly tasted like the spice cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
these kinds of cakes are handy dandy for those who are not cake/pastry bakers (;0)...i realized tho i didn't have butterscotch pudding so i used vanilla and a tsp of almond flavouring...yup good cake...;0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This cake is very good! I made it exactly as written and topped it (once cooled) with a quick vanilla glaze and red and green cherries. It smelled great while baking and my mother-in-law really enjoyed it. This cake is super simple to make and with the addition of the glaze and cherries it was very festive. Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I did make a few changes to this recipe as I was concerned that lots of the other reviews said it tastes mostly like spice cake and not enough butterscotch. I followed the recipe and ingredients as listed although I used homemade applesauce in place of the oil. Also added a few drops of Butter Vanilla Baking Emulsion (this is a Natural flavoring from Lorann Professional Kitchen) as well as 1 cup of butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I needed a quick, easy recipe for a potluck at school and this one caught my eye, mainly because I had all of the ingredients in my pantry. I have really been trying to make all of my cakes from scratch, but happened to have a spice mix and a package of butterscotch pudding. This blended together in a few minutes and smelled so good while baking. It came out very moist, but the butterscotch flavor did not come through as much as I had hoped that it would. It just tasted like a spice cake to me. I drizzled a powdered sugar icing over it, which did make for a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
We really loved this cake once I tweaked it. It's a basic recipe really. I poured in half the batter and added 2/3 cup butterscotch chips to it (so they wouldn't all end up on the bottom if I mixed them in before) then topped with the rest of the batter. You may have good results mixing them throughout; my batter seemed a little thin. I also made a butterscotch glaze for the top. I would also recommend trying a caramel or maple icing with this. It's great with the addition of chips and icing and goes well with coffee. The boyfriend liked it with the blend of spice and butterscotch. I could see that walnuts or pecans might be a nice addition. This cake also freezes well (well-wrapped) glaze and all. If I frosted it, I may wait to frost it after it had dethawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carterville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Very easy recipe. Didn't have butterscotch so I used Banana Creme...delicious and moist. Baked in a 9 x 13 for around 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States