Butterscotch Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
i think this recipe is great! It is very delicous! What tastes grest is covering apples with the butterscoth sauce(like instead of carmel apples!) Youll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This is an excellent butterscotch sauce! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
I didn't like that I had to strain the butterscotch several times, because no matter when I put the egg in or how much I beat the egg, it cooked. It was awful to see the egg whites and yolk floating through the butter scotch. Tablecream would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Delicious! I was looking for something to put over bread pudding, and this was excellent! I had no trouble getting it to mix and get smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This recipe was very good. My Kids loved it on Ice Cream. The left overs keep well in the frig. No lumps or egg chunks for me, I cooked it on low and took my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
I also had problems with cooked egg in the sauce and strained it out. Next time I'll try warming the whole egg in hot tap water to temper it to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I used heavy cream instead of the egg and used Golden Syrup instead of Corn Syrup as I can't get it where I live. The sauce doesn't thicken till it starts to cool down so don't over cook it. Mine indeed up being too thick after it had fully cooled. Still tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This sauce is wonderful if you TEMPER the egg. Heat all of the ingredients (minus the egg) until the sugar dissolves, beat the egg in another bowl, add the hot sugar mixture while whisking. Add egg and sugar mixture back into the pan and cook just until it thickens, whisking constantly. You'll have a great, SMOOTH sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I tried this and it is excellent. I had no trouble with the egg as I cooked the sauce in a double boiler and used a whisk to stir it while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong, but the sauce didn't thicken up. I turned up the heat a little thinking it wasn't hot enough to thicken, and the egg started to cook. Little bits of it were floating at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States