Butterscotch Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I heated/melted all ingredients except for the egg. I did temper the egg before adding and cooking as suggested by others. The sauce turned out sweet and smooth and delicious over bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is SO good, I love it. I let the egg sit at room temp for about 20 minutes, and used a wire whisk to blend it all together over the stove. Was very quick & easy. Thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This turned out great, I tempured the egg and it was perfect. Great recipe will definatley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
For those people with egg floating & cooking, etc., you need to find out how to "temper" the egg. This is a process that must be done, when making certain sauces, custards, cream pies or pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I don't know what I did wrong, but the sauce didn't thicken up. I turned up the heat a little thinking it wasn't hot enough to thicken, and the egg started to cook. Little bits of it were floating at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
I tried this and it is excellent. I had no trouble with the egg as I cooked the sauce in a double boiler and used a whisk to stir it while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This sauce is wonderful if you TEMPER the egg. Heat all of the ingredients (minus the egg) until the sugar dissolves, beat the egg in another bowl, add the hot sugar mixture while whisking. Add egg and sugar mixture back into the pan and cook just until it thickens, whisking constantly. You'll have a great, SMOOTH sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I used heavy cream instead of the egg and used Golden Syrup instead of Corn Syrup as I can't get it where I live. The sauce doesn't thicken till it starts to cool down so don't over cook it. Mine indeed up being too thick after it had fully cooled. Still tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
I also had problems with cooked egg in the sauce and strained it out. Next time I'll try warming the whole egg in hot tap water to temper it to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GELOGENIC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
This recipe was very good. My Kids loved it on Ice Cream. The left overs keep well in the frig. No lumps or egg chunks for me, I cooked it on low and took my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States