Butterscotch Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
The recipe "as is" is good, but you notice sweet first and taste second (not ideal). I added another Tbsp of butter (total of 1/4 cup) and a dash more of milk, and 1/2 tsp of vanilla - the flavor was so much better and more rich (less pure sugar taste). We really enjoyed this recipe with those tweaks. On another note, DON'T let it boil - the texture becomes grainy (I unwisely thought I could do dishes AND stir occasionaly... but out of sight, out of mind. The flavor was still great, though, and we'll make this again) Thank for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Elhardt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Very good, but follow instructions exactly! If you let it boil, it gets gritty. Also, I added a little vanilla, but it tasted better without it - does not need vanilla, nor salt! An extra tablespoon of butter does not hurt, however. I made it a second time using margarine, and that worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very easy and wonderful. Cook a little while on low until sugar disolves for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I used honey for the corn syrup, just because we didn't have any. My kids loved it on vanilla icecream. My son insists we keep this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is a very thin sauce. I cut back the milk to 1/8 cup and did not boil. Paired it with the Super Duper Easy Apple Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Yum! Just beware: if you are looking for a sauce that is thick and syrupy, this isn't it. It's quite liquidy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Yummy & easy! For a less sweet version I used 3/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup milk and add 2 tsp cornstarch (to make it thicker).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This turned out to be quite wonderful....I had never made my own Butterscotch sauce....my kids really enjoyed it very much. It was hard not to boil it, but I just kept stirring until it thickened like I thought it should. It had a wonderful buttery taste to it. All I had was unsalted butter, so it took longer for it to melt down, but man did it look great, smell great, and it was still warm when I topped the ice cream. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very simple to do, but tastes more like a thin caramel sauce to me than butterscotch. Still, it is very tasty. I followed the directions precisely, tasted it, and then at the end added a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla. Used for a drizzle over pound cake. Will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I will NEVER buy butterscotch sauce from the store EVER again! This was great! Super easy, super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States