Butterscotch Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
YUM. I added a splash of vanilla and it tastes like a cross between caramel and butterscotch. It's very thin when it cooks, but thickens up to a nice consistency when it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very sweet as is, but tasty. I was making this for over bread pudding so I added an additional 2-3T butter, and2T half and half. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
too runny. Not much more than a brown sugar flavor. I will keep looking for another sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is very good and VERY sweet. I used margarine instead of butter and added an extra tablespoon. I kept it over the heat for a while after the butter melted until the sugar wasn't grainy anymore, but I was careful not to let it boil. I tried it over ice cream and popcorn and enjoyed it both ways. I saw a review saying that this was a very thin sauce. For me, it was thin when it was hot but it thickened up quite a bit when it cooled. On ice cream, it behaved more like hot fudge than a syrup. I think this will be more popular with kids than adults because it's so very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is good. The best in the world? Hmm, don't know about that. It's easy to make tho. I also made a hot fudge topping from this site and made sundaes. WOW, they were good and definitely hit the sweet tooth spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I LOVE IT!! and it was super easy too!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is absolutely delicious! I made it with margarine and added a teaspoon of vanilly, but next time I will try butter and leave the vanilla out. The vanilla changed the flavor away from a true butterscotch taste, but still so yummy. We ate this on ice cream, toasted english muffins, and in peanut butter (and butterscotch) sandwiches! A very decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This turned out to be quite wonderful....I had never made my own Butterscotch sauce....my kids really enjoyed it very much. It was hard not to boil it, but I just kept stirring until it thickened like I thought it should. It had a wonderful buttery taste to it. All I had was unsalted butter, so it took longer for it to melt down, but man did it look great, smell great, and it was still warm when I topped the ice cream. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Yum,yum, yum! Trying to stay out of it while waiting for it to cool. Followed previous reviewers suggestion and added 2 tsp of cornstarch. It thickened it nicely! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dominion, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
A great success. We added 1 tablespoon of butter for extra awesomeness and 1/2 of a sliced jalapeno for a little extra kick! It was delicious over vanilla ice cream. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States