Butterscotch Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Simple and easy, but this is not butterscotch. It tastes ok for what it is, but no thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
So easy and made with ingredients on hand. I used 3 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons margarine. I substituted white sugar for corn syrup, only 2 tablespoons of milk, and added 1/2 teaspoon salt. Be sure to cook long enough without boiling to fully melt all sugar. Nice consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Really easy and made it with cream instead of milk. I do prefer caramel sauce since it was more buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Not as buttery tasting as I was looking for, the flavor got lost on vanilla icecream. Even tried adding another tb. butter. Update: Adding a touch of butter flavoring helps with this recipe. I used a combo of brown sugar, white sugar and syrup to make a better color and then followed the recipe as usual. Adding a drop or two of yellow food coloring makes it prettier if you do this. But that's up to you. Remember brown sugar muddles the color but adds richer flavor. However, just adding the butter flavoring helped the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
It was ok. I've had much richer version before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This is very good. I started putting my ingredients together and realized I didn't have any light corn syrup so I substituted the only thing I had on hand with the same consitancy - maple syrup. I knew that would alter the flavor slightly so I added a tablespoon of Butterschots to counteract plus a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Delicious! I'm going to get some corn syrup and try again. One thing to note though...for those who came out with a thin sauce, you didn't cook it long enough. Even though the recipe says to heat until the butter is melted, if you simmer it for 15 or 20 minutes (no boiling) and stir constantly, this turns into a rich sauce that thickens as it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Awesome! However, I did add 1/2 tsp. vanilla and also 1/2 C. chopped pecans. Ladled this delightful confection into quilted jars and decorated to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiltie-Lass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very simple to do, but tastes more like a thin caramel sauce to me than butterscotch. Still, it is very tasty. I followed the directions precisely, tasted it, and then at the end added a pinch of salt and a splash of vanilla. Used for a drizzle over pound cake. Will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
YUM. I added a splash of vanilla and it tastes like a cross between caramel and butterscotch. It's very thin when it cooks, but thickens up to a nice consistency when it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States