Butterscotch Rum Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Made it for the Christmas holidays...it was great! I have made it since for Cuban themed dinners....Great in the afternoon with a cup of coffee...it gets better each day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I would have givin this a 3, but my husband loved it. I didn't like the texture, because it reminded me of bread pudding, which I don't care for. I was moist and had a wonderful butterscotch flavor. We could not even taste the rum. The best part was the butterscotch topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Very moist and tasty - didn't have dark rum so I used spiced instead. Next time I will add a little less and I'll also buy an extra bag of butterscotch chips to put in the batter and make extra glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I could so become an alcaholic for this cake, it is soooo delicious I hated to share it with anyone. But unfortunatly they all loved it too.I WILL DEFINATLY BE MAKING IT AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
OMG, this was GREAT and I am not a lover of butterscotch at all. My cake fell apart on the sides and I let it cool for 3 hours. I did not use rum. Dispite the negatives, this cake is awsome. I'm in love and I don't love easily. I only try cakes with 5 stars and sometimes they don't even deserve 3 stars, but this cake is to die for, although it is very fattening and pretty heavy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this cake for my parents. They absolutely loved it! My mom said it reminded her of a dessert her own mother used to get from a local bakery and it brought back memories. I actually used light rum instead of dark run and even added pecans to the walnuts because I ran out of walnuts. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This cake is delicious. You can't tell the finished product is from a box cake mix! Definitely something to brag about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Augustine, Texas, USA
Living In: Marshall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I baked this cake for something different at the Thanksgiving table. It turned out to be an excellent addition to everything else. Everyone was pleasantly surprised by the taste and my mother even asked which bakery I got it from. I would recommend this cake as dessert for almost any occasion and it goes very well with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I am not a baker! But wanted a great cake for a special birthday. This was it. Simple recipe to follow with outstanding results! I didn't change a thing, except I did not make the glaze. Very moist. The nuts add to the lovely texture. Beautiful color and aroma. Everyone loved it - even the kids who are PICKY eaters. If you are fortunate enough to have leftovers, it is even better the next day (or day after!). Terrific recipe, I plan on making a bunch of them and giving them as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
I hesitated to make this cake; I'm not a big butterscotch fan. (However, I am a big rum fan!) Am I ever glad I made this cake--EVERYONE went nuts over it. Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States