Butterscotch Pumpkin Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This is one of my favorite cakes to make once it starts getting cooler outside. This works well with a yellow cake mix, too. If I have them on hand, I like to throw in a cup of butterscotch chips. Butterscotch and pumpkin is really a winning flavor combination--it's a favorite in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I made this for a pot luck at work and it was A HIT!! I just frosted it with a can of ready made cream cheese frosting but before I did that, I sprinkled a few butterscotch chips on the top of the cake and let them melt into a sort of glaze as the cake cooled. It was so delicious, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My grandmother has beed making this recipe since the 1950's (since boxed cake mix hit the shelves!) She said that she originally got it from a church group. We use yellow cake mix and an enitre can of pumpkin (which was a mistake originally)....it is so much more moist! We also top it with an orange glaze. It really makes a big difference. The orange blends so well with the other flavors. Just use confectioners sugar, melted butter, orange zest and a bit of milk and drizzle on once its cooled. You will make it this way every time! This has been a family tradition for over 60 years and I am glad to see other families enjoying it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candycane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Delmandi
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I made a cream cheese glaze to go with this cake. The cake is SUPER moist and will be perfect for a cool fall day! It did take almost 2 hours to cook thoroughly however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delmandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this cake and changed a couple of things that were suggested in the reviews. I added the whole can of pumpkin and added 1 cup of buterscotch chips. I also baked at 300 for 60 minutes.I also did a cream cheese glaze on the cake. It turned out fantastic! I took it to work for a potluck and there was a ton of food there and this was gone in 30 minutes. I now have to bring another one in next week as several people did not get to try it! They said it was the most moist cake they had eaten and the most delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Yummy! This cake was so easy to make and super moist! Baking at 250 made me nervous as it seemed too low, so I baked at 300 for 70 minutes and it was perfect! I sprinkled powdered sugar on top. Next time I want to try a cream cheese glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Very moist and easy, I used spice cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is my favorite cake to make in the fall!! You can add a little sprinkle of powdered sugar or a cream cheese glaze but its even good plain. Sometimes I will just drop a spoonfull of cool whip on top...anyway you eat it its good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I just made this yesterday and took it to my waitstaff friends at the "House of Pies" restaurant here in Houston. They LOVED IT...and their baker came out and told me he loved it also. Easy, tasty, moist and beautiful presentation. And now, I can even buy microwave glazes for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Was not outstanding. Used Yellow cake mix and should have used more pumpkin than called for. Baked it 300 for 70 minutes, not as moist as claimed to be. Using a cream cheese frosting helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States