Butterscotch Pumpkin Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Fantastic! I made this cake with a whole can of pumpkin, and baked for 60 minutes at 300. I drizzled a cream cheese glaze over it, and it was delicious!!! My boyfriend said it was the best cake he has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coracoracora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
The first time I made this it was good, but not fantastic. The second time I tweaked a little - I added 1/2 bag butterscotch chips and about 1/3 cup crushed pineapple. Frosted with cream cheese frosting and it was a big hit at Christmas dinner. This will definitely be a holiday treat from now on. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this cake and changed a couple of things that were suggested in the reviews. I added the whole can of pumpkin and added 1 cup of buterscotch chips. I also baked at 300 for 60 minutes.I also did a cream cheese glaze on the cake. It turned out fantastic! I took it to work for a potluck and there was a ton of food there and this was gone in 30 minutes. I now have to bring another one in next week as several people did not get to try it! They said it was the most moist cake they had eaten and the most delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a hit after our Thanksgiving dinner. However, I wasn't sure about the butterscotch pudding. Instead I used vanilla pudding and baked at 300 degrees for 70 minutes. Then I made a cream cheese glaze which finished it to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
i made this for a group of ladies that my great grandma knows and they absolutly enjoyed it. it was a very simple recipe, and the cake came out sooo nice and moist. the instructions say to leave it in for an hour and 10 mins, it really only needs about one hour, just let it sit for about 15 mins before u flip it. if u spray the pan very well with pam baking spray, the cake will slide right out with no hassle. totally going to make this for my family for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Was not outstanding. Used Yellow cake mix and should have used more pumpkin than called for. Baked it 300 for 70 minutes, not as moist as claimed to be. Using a cream cheese frosting helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
My grandmother has beed making this recipe since the 1950's (since boxed cake mix hit the shelves!) She said that she originally got it from a church group. We use yellow cake mix and an enitre can of pumpkin (which was a mistake originally)....it is so much more moist! We also top it with an orange glaze. It really makes a big difference. The orange blends so well with the other flavors. Just use confectioners sugar, melted butter, orange zest and a bit of milk and drizzle on once its cooled. You will make it this way every time! This has been a family tradition for over 60 years and I am glad to see other families enjoying it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candycane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I used yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding. My cake was VERY good. I was glad I didn't put icing on it as it is very sweet. Next time I'll try adding raisins or dates to the batter. Or for a special occasion, I think pecans would be perfect. I cooked in a bundt pan at 250 as directed, but it took about 10 minutes longer than the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This cake looks so good. Can't wait to try it. Can you bake it in a bundt pan? Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I just made this yesterday and took it to my waitstaff friends at the "House of Pies" restaurant here in Houston. They LOVED IT...and their baker came out and told me he loved it also. Easy, tasty, moist and beautiful presentation. And now, I can even buy microwave glazes for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States