Butterscotch Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
What an easy recipe! If you like butterscotch, this is a must have recipe....kids loved it..hubbie, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Very good, very easy. Rich. Requires a lot of stirring. I used an extra egg yolk (getting rid of yolks from angel food cake), and it set up nicely. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very easy recipe. I would suggest,for those that are getting a grainy texture, to heat the sugar and flour until the sugar starts to melt a little then add 1/4 of the milk and whisk until smooth. Follow the recipe as written after that. Whisking a lot and making sure that your sugar is fresh and not clumpy will make it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Fantastic! Easy recipe, not expensive to make, no specialty ingredients or equipment, maybe requires a little patience but it was worth it! This is a new family favorite, a can't-live-without kind of recipe. Who would think it was this simple? I agree with Amy on technique of blending ingredients well and slowly - never underestimate how much better that can make your recipes. I started by blending the flour and brown sugar together in my sauce pan NOT over heat, blended it very thoroughly and taking care to break apart any clumps. THEN I heated it, while stirring, and added the milk a little bit at a time and stirred constantly while adding the milk until it was well blended and smooth. After it boils, it will look lumpy (don't panic!) just keep stirring.... this is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook4myFamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinemabon
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Fast, easy, and very tasty; basically a cream sauce with sugar and eggs. Chefs take note: USE A WHISK! Pudding takes a little time and use med-high heat at first, gradually turning down your heat as your milk rises in temperature. You will have lump-free, thick creamy pudding if you use a whisk and remember to simmer on lowest heat for one-two full minutes when your sauce comes to boil, stirring constantly during this part (you must cook out the flour!). The pudding will thicken even more when it cools. Perfect as written above... then try this variation... Instead of whole milk, use 1 C skim with 3/4 C fat-free half-n-half; leave out the eggs, use a 1/4 t vanilla, and add one pat of "light" butter at the end for further creaminess. Granted, it doesn't have the same rich texture, but it tastes like butterscotch with 1/10 the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Best butterscotch pudding. Very, very sweet. Tastes just as good warm. Used 1 percent milk and was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I liked this--it tastes very much like butterscotch. I used almost 3/4 cup brownsugar, and it is very sweet, but butterscotch is supposed to be. This is a somewhat thin pudding and very good as is in dessert cups. The directions would be better if you mix sugar/flour together first and slowly whisk in half the milk before you turn on the heat. Then whisk in rest of the milk until it boils. Add some of the hot pudding to the egg yolks and then stir in. This will make a very smooth pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This recipe is very creamy and sweet. I used 1/2 dark br. sugar 1/2 light, it turned out really sweet. Next time I believe I will cut the sugar down to 3/4 c and still use half and half. It gives the pudding a much richer butterscotch taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
for taste- amazing! for calories- yikes! But, overall this is a great recipe... took me about 5 minutes, and soo yummy. You should really whisk CONSTANTLY and add the milk very slowly to get a great creamy and smooth texture. This was my first time so I used 3\4 brown sugar and 1\4 white. Not too sweet but still nice and butterscotchy. I also added an extra yolk (using them up), 1/2 the amount of butter and some vanilla. Didn't cut out the flavor at all, really nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States