Butterscotch Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very easy recipe. I would suggest,for those that are getting a grainy texture, to heat the sugar and flour until the sugar starts to melt a little then add 1/4 of the milk and whisk until smooth. Follow the recipe as written after that. Whisking a lot and making sure that your sugar is fresh and not clumpy will make it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
What an easy recipe! If you like butterscotch, this is a must have recipe....kids loved it..hubbie, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Very good, very easy. Rich. Requires a lot of stirring. I used an extra egg yolk (getting rid of yolks from angel food cake), and it set up nicely. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Fantastic! Easy recipe, not expensive to make, no specialty ingredients or equipment, maybe requires a little patience but it was worth it! This is a new family favorite, a can't-live-without kind of recipe. Who would think it was this simple? I agree with Amy on technique of blending ingredients well and slowly - never underestimate how much better that can make your recipes. I started by blending the flour and brown sugar together in my sauce pan NOT over heat, blended it very thoroughly and taking care to break apart any clumps. THEN I heated it, while stirring, and added the milk a little bit at a time and stirred constantly while adding the milk until it was well blended and smooth. After it boils, it will look lumpy (don't panic!) just keep stirring.... this is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook4myFamily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Good recipe. Very easy to make. I little runny, but that could have been my fault. Nice smooth flavor. Next time I might use dark brown sugar, and use a little less, it was a bit sweet for me. Husband liked it though, and he hates everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This recipe is very creamy and sweet. I used 1/2 dark br. sugar 1/2 light, it turned out really sweet. Next time I believe I will cut the sugar down to 3/4 c and still use half and half. It gives the pudding a much richer butterscotch taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I liked this--it tastes very much like butterscotch. I used almost 3/4 cup brownsugar, and it is very sweet, but butterscotch is supposed to be. This is a somewhat thin pudding and very good as is in dessert cups. The directions would be better if you mix sugar/flour together first and slowly whisk in half the milk before you turn on the heat. Then whisk in rest of the milk until it boils. Add some of the hot pudding to the egg yolks and then stir in. This will make a very smooth pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
eh... When I made it it came out with a cottage cheese consistency because my brown sugar was a brick! It sure did taste like butterscotch though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
TOO SWEET. also maybe this is my fault (although, I have no idea what I could have done wrong), but the texture is not creamy, it is gritty, from the flour I think.. not making again. Husband said it tasted like pure brown sugar, what a waist of eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States