Butterscotch Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Best butterscotch pudding. Very, very sweet. Tastes just as good warm. Used 1 percent milk and was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Tasted fine but I'm not sure I'd call it butterscotch. The taste was vaguely reminiscent of butterscotch but with the full amount of butter was too greasy. Unfortunately the first time I made this I did not read all of the comments and got the dreaded "grainy texture" that so many commenters got. The recipe was much improved after doing what Amy said: "heat the sugar and flour until the sugar starts to melt a little then add 1/4 of the milk and whisk until smooth. Follow the recipe as written after that. Whisking a lot and making sure that your sugar is fresh and not clumpy will make it smooth." If you do that, and cut the butter you'll get a quick workable butterscotch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cinemabon
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Fast, easy, and very tasty; basically a cream sauce with sugar and eggs. Chefs take note: USE A WHISK! Pudding takes a little time and use med-high heat at first, gradually turning down your heat as your milk rises in temperature. You will have lump-free, thick creamy pudding if you use a whisk and remember to simmer on lowest heat for one-two full minutes when your sauce comes to boil, stirring constantly during this part (you must cook out the flour!). The pudding will thicken even more when it cools. Perfect as written above... then try this variation... Instead of whole milk, use 1 C skim with 3/4 C fat-free half-n-half; leave out the eggs, use a 1/4 t vanilla, and add one pat of "light" butter at the end for further creaminess. Granted, it doesn't have the same rich texture, but it tastes like butterscotch with 1/10 the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The directions don't seem right. I put my sugar and flour in the pan first over medium heat like it said and the sugar quickly burned before I could get to the milk. So I tried again with milk first and it was much better. I also found that no matter how much I wisked the flour would clump. It tasted nice, but I think I'll keep looking for a go-to pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I had the same trouble with the graininess. I thought I spent enough time with the stirring, I mixed the flour and sugar thoroughly in the warm pan before adding the liquid so there were no lumps. I think the trick was the fact that i allowed a light boil for a couple of minutes and I think it needed a hard boil for a couple of minutes. Overall, I am trying to ressurrect this outcome to put on top of my bread pudding (see bread pudding I) because it is not that great by itself. For all the butter and sugar in it, I would hope it would be just a little bit better. Yes, I could have done better, but I think the bang just isn't worth the caloric buck in this case. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
for taste- amazing! for calories- yikes! But, overall this is a great recipe... took me about 5 minutes, and soo yummy. You should really whisk CONSTANTLY and add the milk very slowly to get a great creamy and smooth texture. This was my first time so I used 3\4 brown sugar and 1\4 white. Not too sweet but still nice and butterscotchy. I also added an extra yolk (using them up), 1/2 the amount of butter and some vanilla. Didn't cut out the flavor at all, really nice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
eh... When I made it it came out with a cottage cheese consistency because my brown sugar was a brick! It sure did taste like butterscotch though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Nice. My children enjoyed this. I modified it slightly adding 2 tsp home-made vanilla extract. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris
Home Town: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Tasty desert but doesn't much resemble any butterscotch I've eaten in the past. It's really easy to make and doesn't require uncommon ingredients. Make sure you like the taste of brown sugar as that is what dominates this simple concoction. Overall, I recommend it if you have the munchies but are feeling too lazy to make something proper. C+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I liked this--it tastes very much like butterscotch. I used almost 3/4 cup brownsugar, and it is very sweet, but butterscotch is supposed to be. This is a somewhat thin pudding and very good as is in dessert cups. The directions would be better if you mix sugar/flour together first and slowly whisk in half the milk before you turn on the heat. Then whisk in rest of the milk until it boils. Add some of the hot pudding to the egg yolks and then stir in. This will make a very smooth pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States