Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I've made this recipe a number of times now. Living abroad, when I want a taste of home, I have to make it myself. It's so good (even better than the packaged sort) that I've turned it into pie filling when I was back home over the holidays- graham cracker crust, fresh whipped cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARICAM58
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe has a lot of potential but it's not one I'll be making as a stand-alone dessert in the future. It is far too rich and sweet to eat by itself except in very small amounts. For that reason I think it would be a good filling for a small tartlet, the kind one sees at tea parties. I'd garnish it with toasted coconut or perhaps slivered almonds. It would make a perfect little bite. Now, having said all that, the reason this recipe is getting 4 stars from me is the consistency. It's not as smooth as pudding made only with cornstarch. I imagine the eggs are added for richness and color but the final texture is slightly grainy. I used a whisk when cooking. Once the pudding began to thicken it turned briefly into a very lumpy mass. I reduced the heat and whisked vigorously until I achieved my desired consistency, added the vanilla and butter, continued whisking, and the pudding became smooth. The slight graininess is not unappetizing but it's not really creamy like a pudding made from cornstarch alone. Finally, the color is a lovely pale caramel color, not the bright "pumpkin" color I'm used to in commercial butterscotch pudding but I only mention this for those who might care about color and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARICAM58

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I used this recipe as a base for a vegan version. It did turn out good. I used full fat coconut milk (from a can) instead of regular milk. I also substituted Ener-G egg replacer for the egg and margarine for the butter. (I would like to try coconut oil next time.) I also used light brown sugar, because that it what I had on hand. The flavor was amazing, but I did notice a bit of a starchy texture to it. I'm not sure if this is because I used the full amount of corn starch or because I used the egg replacer, which is starch-based. Next time, I will change them around a bit (first by removing some of the corn starch) and maybe try using real eggs instead. I think the coconut milk added a nice flavor. (It doesn't taste strongly of coconut, but it does taste different from cow's milk, thus adding a little flavor.) Over all, I am very satisfied with this recipe. For those having trouble with lumps, make sure to stir the dry ingredients together well before adding the liquid. Also, I constantly whisked it, and I had no problems whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Just made this easy recipe and it is ok, but not enough flavor for me. The real test will be when the grandkids try it tomorrow. I followed recipe, using 2% milk. No lumps, nice consistency. But then, I'm a dark chocolate fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This recipe was really good, save for the fact that it was lumpy and way too sweet. Easy to make, but am disappointed in the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I doubled this recipe except I used only 4T of cornstarch and light brown sugar. I read all the reviews first and also browned the butter as one reviewer suggested for a deeper flavor. I mixed everything together before heating it up and added the cornstarch with the sugar and salt. I stirred it frequently and ended up with a smooth, lump-free pudding. Many reviewers thought the sugar was excessive, but I did not. It was good, just not great. I wanted a darker, deeper, richer flavor and I think that's where the dark brown sugar will come in. Perhaps even some molasses. Better of course than a box but fell short of my expectations. My own fault for not having/using dark brown sugar and/or molasses. I'm thinking even cooking/browning the sugar as a separate step to carmelize it further for a darker, richer even almost smoky flavor would really put this over the top. I will make it again in the future and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
It was a good consistency, but didn't really have the butterscotch flavor I was looking for. Also, was too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Flavor was perfect, but it's powdery following the directions as written. I'm sure it's because of how much cornstarch the recipe calls for. I think I'll stick with the homemade vanilla pudding and maybe just change the sugar to dark brown if I want the butterscotch flavor again. Thanks for the good flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Oh my this is soooo good. I only had light brown sugar so that is what I used. Next time I make it I'm going to try and remember to buy dark brown sugar. The flavor is fabulous and my family flipped over this pudding. Easy to make. I doubled the recipe and used 5 T of cornstarch. Set up perfectly, it wasn't to thick and it wasn't to runny. Yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I reduced the cornstarch to 2 TBS and the consistency was perfect. I loved the flavor, though it was a bit sweet for my taste. While warm, it was smooth and creamy. The next day, after being refrigerated, it was still good, but had a grainy texture. This was my first time making pudding so maybe that is normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States