Butterscotch Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've used this recipe numerous times and it has always turned out wonderfully. I went with other reviewers using only 2 tblsp cornstarch, and dark brown sugar has too much molasses for my taste so I always use light brown instead. Don't stint on the amounts of sugar and butter too much - they're the ingredients that make it "butterscotch." Also, many cooks seem to be having a problem with lumps. Cornstarch has a nasty habit of lumping when mixed with sugar. You can eliminate them almost entirely by mixing the starch in well with the sugar and salt before adding the other ingredients. Lastly, instead of tempering the eggs, mix them well and add them, along with the milk, to the entire recipe before you even turn on the burner. Some recipes are fussy about when certain ingredients are added. This isn't one of them. Remember to stir *constantly* once it's on the burner or else the lumps you got rid of from the above step will come back to haunt you! -grin- Once again, this recipe makes a delicious pudding and Maryann, I thank you so much for submitting it. It's truly a favorite here at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nichols, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
After a few adjustments, this recipe was perfectly good. 2 tablespoons cornstarch was more than enough. I mixed the brown sugar, 2 tablespoons cornstarch, and salt in a 1 quart saucepan, then slowly stirred in milk. I brought this to a boil over medium heat while I beat eggs in a smal bowl. When the sugar mixture came to a boil, I removed it from the heat and added about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of it into the eggs, beating constantly, and poured everything back to the saucepan. Keeping on stirring, I brought this back to a boil, removed from heat, and stirred in butter and vanilla. It came perfect for me after cooking it this way. I hope it can help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Easy trick to keep your cornstarch from lumping in any recipe, not just this one. Mix cornstarch thoroughly with COLD liquid (water, milk, etc.) to dissolve, THEN place on stove & heat, stirring constantly. You will end up with completely lump-free sauce (pudding, etc.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Just remember a rule of thumb for puddings...usually the ratio of cornstarch is 1Tbs to 1c milk. ALWAYS mix in cornstarch when liquid is cool. Eggs have to be brought up to temprature VERY SLOWLY. A secret to good butterscotch flavor is browning the butter first in a small pan. Make sure it's a pan with a thick bottom. You don't want it to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Good recipe. Based on the prior reviews, I was a bit sceptical but had to jump in and try it. A few tips....I used yellow sugar instead of dark brown and measured 3/4 cup loosely packed. I decreased the butter to a 2-ish tbsp. To keep the lump-factor to a mimimum, stir with a slotted wooden spoon or whisk. Remove from the heat to add the vanilla and butter. Even if there are lumps, keep stirring/beating/whisking...most, if not all, should disappear. The addictiviness (?) of this pudding is HIGH so beware!! Thanks Mary Ann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Way to much cornstarch and brownsugar for my taste. I had clumps of cornstarch in my pudding even though I stirred continuously. I cut back sugar to 2/3 cup and only used 2 tablespoons cornstarch for my second batch. Stir while cooking and bring to a boil, boil and stir one minute then add remaining ingredients. It turned out much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Wow! This is fantastic! Don't turn your back on it for a second though, or the cornstarch will lump. Came together very quickly and is almost gone now! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I made this recipe twice, and both times it was WAY too thick. It is a bit too sweet also, but the main thing is cut down on the corn starch or you'll be making concrete. The butter and vanilla are nice touches, but even constantly stirring it clumped up and was way too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
good recipe. use more milk,a little less sugar and a little less cornstarch to improve this pudding. here's a helpful hint. I had my mixer handy and right after it thickened I beat it for about a minute with the mixer on medium speed. all the lumps disappeared and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
DELICIOUS! This was the GREATEST puddding i have honestly ever tasted! All my guests adored it. I got graet reviews! Thank u for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States